Baking With Booze: Italian Amaretto Coffee Cake

Published December 20, 2014 by The Feminist

Dear readers, it has been a ridiculously long time since my last Baking with Booze video. Not because I was lacking inspiration – I’m never short of inspiration!- but because I was lacking time. These past couple of weeks have been absurdly busy and I regret to say that the first thing that suffered from my busy life was my blog and my Baking with Booze spin off show.

However, this doesn’t mean I have forgotten all about you, dear readers. You still have a special place in my heart and that is why I decided to clear my busy schedule and make some time to put together another Baking with Booze video.

This cake is – to use Tom Kerridge’s favourite phrase- “utterly lush”: a moist loaf packed with aromatic coffee and Amaretto flavours and topped with a tasty walnut crumble. It is by far the most perfect cake to kick off the Holidays, for it will get you into a Christmas spirit in no time.

PS: With this video, I also took the liberty to bombard you with my favourite song of the moment: Therapy by Mary J. Blige. I hope you all like it as well, because otherwise you are so screwed. 😉

Ingredients:

For the walnut crumble:

  • 50gr walnuts, finely chopped
  • ½ tsp ground cinnamon
  • 20gr butter
  • 1 heaped tbsp. flour
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup

For the Amaretto coffee cake:

  • 150gr butter
  • 200gr cane sugar
  • 200gr flour
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 4 eggs
  • 100ml hot water
  • 1 tbsp instant espresso powder
  • 50ml Amaretto

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 170°C and line a loaf tin with baking parchment.
  2. Make the walnut crumble. Mix the butter, maple syrup, cinnamon and flour together in a blender until you get a thick paste. Stir in the chopped walnuts by hand until evenly dispersed and set aside.
  3. In a bowl, mix together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy.
  4. Mix the hot water together with the espresso powder and let it cool slightly before adding to the butter and sugar mixture. Mix well. Now stir in the Amaretto as well. Your mixture will look disgusting at this stage, but it will change, trust me.
  5. Stir in the eggs, one at a time and whisk well after each addition.
  6. Finally, stir in the flour and baking powder and pour the batter into the baking tin.
  7. Scatter dollops of the walnut crumble all across the top of the batter and bake in the oven for about 40-45 minutes.
6 comments on “Baking With Booze: Italian Amaretto Coffee Cake

  • Leave a Reply

