From Fitness to Fashion: Alexander Wang for H&M

Published November 6, 2014 by The Feminist

alexander-wang-x-hm

“Sport Deluxe” has been a trend for quite some time now and although that whole I-just-went-to-the-gym look isn’t exactly my cup of tea (and that’s putting it mildly!), I do find Alexander Wang’s collection for H&M intriguing.

From stretchy leggings to cool crop tops and neoprene sweatshirts: everything looks “workout”-ready. The collection even has a pair of boxing gloves and …a towel!

box

doek

Long story short: Mr. Wang wants us to exercise!

In a fashion world that is dominated by the unspoken message of “starvation”, I think it is utterly brilliant to finally see a designer’s collection that seems to step away from this unhealthy doctrine and embraces the “healthy mind in a healthy body”-theme. Fit is the new skinny, so to speak.

It is a welcome trend this gym-obsessed generation has been waiting for. Even though I won’t be wearing Wang’s clothes to go to work or go shopping (for someone who prefers lipstick, pencil skirts and high heels, there is a limit to dressing casually), that doesn’t mean I will ignore Wang’s collection entirely.

On the contrary, I have already spotted some marvelous items that I am dying to get my hands on. And mark my words: I am positive these glorious fitness outfits will make me the most stylish person at my gym! (Since I will probably never be the numero uno in any other gym-related field, being the gym most fashionable seems like a pretty good consolation prize)

Here are a couple of my favourite sporty items:

to^p

legging

And who knows? I might even dare to wear them outside the gym after all. These cute crop tops and those amazing shoes definitely demonstrate that sporty can indeed by trendy.

cr^op

shoes

4 comments on “From Fitness to Fashion: Alexander Wang for H&M

  • I totally want that sports bra. It looks like something I need wear to the archery range as a chest protector. I’ll try to find it here, but something tells me I can only find it at H&M in the US. (Weeping).

  • Oh, I also wanted to do a post about Alexander Wang’s collection right now 😀 Although I am a bit disappointed by this collection, because it is so sporty (I am also not so much into this sporty fashion) I haven’t found a lot of items I want, except for a shirt which I will also put in my blog post later.

  • Leave a Reply

