10 reasons why you need to go and see Miss Julie

Published October 26, 2014 by The Feminist

409670.jpg-r_640_600-b_1_D6D6D6-f_jpg-q_x-xxyxx

Sometimes, on very rare occasions, I do absolutely love living in Belgium.

Let me give you a couple of examples:

When another quality chocolate shop opens just a couple of blocks away from my apartment.

When there is a public holiday and I don’t have to go to work.

When it’s Film Fest Ghent.

Now, let me talk to you about that last one. Film Fest Ghent is my hometown’s very own film festival. It might not be as famous as the one in Berlin, and it is definitely not as glamorous as the one in Cannes, but it does have quite a lot of good films to offer.

And one of those films was “Miss Julie” with none other than Irish eye-candy Colin Farrell and my personal style icon Jessica Chastain. This movie, at first glance, may seem like your everyday Jane Austen-inspired tear jerker, but let me tell you: it is nothing of the sort. If I were to describe it, I would rather say it is a mash-up of One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest and Silver Lining’s Playbook, covered in some Pride & Prejudice cling film.

This film is abso-freakingly bonkers!

Needless to say, I loved it. And this is why:

  • Jessica Chastain

Like I said, I adore her. Not only does she demonstrate that you can be a successful Hollywood actress and not be blonde, but more importantly: the woman can act. Really act. Like, lump-in-throat act.

Her performance as Miss Julie is nothing short of stunning. She plays the ultimate spoiled brat, the drama Queen, and her character’s love for drama makes my own theatrical tantrums seem pretty minute, but Jessica is able to give all this intense drama a very human and believable edge. With a part like hers, it is always dangerous to start over-acting, but Miss Chastain knows what she’s doing. And man, it is an absolute joy to watch her.

  • Colin Farrell

The fact that the guy is easy on the eyes is something we have known for a very long time (after all ,we are not blind), but the fact that the guy can act (I mean really act) still surprises me from time to time. He is absolutely brilliant in his role as tormented soul and lover and his Irish accent is just to die for.

  • It’s drama!

You know me. I like a bit of theatre, and this film is drama from beginning till end.

  • These people are f***ing insane!

Both Miss Julie and Jean are bonkers. Schizophrenia, various compulsive disorders, panic attacks, delusional ramblings, you name it.

These people are so crazy, it kinda made me feel good about myself in a weird, slightly superficial way. Because yes,  I may be weird and bizarre from time to time, but at least I don’t go chopping off canaries’ heads. Which leads me to the next point:

  • (spoiler alert!) There is a dead canary!

And it is hilarious! Not because I like to see dead animals, of course not (that would be horrible!), but because it looked so incredibly fake it more resembled a Wallace & Gromit clay puppet than an actual bird.

  • The melancholic “I think I’m about to cry” -musical score

Bring on those tissues!

  • The dialogues!

The chemistry between Farrell and Chastain is undeniable and there are some pretty fab dialogues to prove it. The language-freak in me was on a two-hour high.

jessica-chastain-colin-farrell-miss-julie

  • The monologues!

Applause for Miss Chastain, because that one monologue were Miss Julie absolutely lost it (I mean, even more than her already pretty fucked up usual self) and went totally crazy, was Oscar-worthy. Yes, Oscar-worthy!

  • There is wine!

The movie made me thirsty. That says enough, right?

wine-wednesday-17

  • And last but not least: there’s a cute dog!

Who doesn’t like a cute dog?

One comment on “10 reasons why you need to go and see Miss Julie

  • Leave a Reply

