Get Out Of My Hair: What Beyoncé’s New Bangs Taught Me About Society

Published October 21, 2014 by The Feminist

be hair

I’ve got a question for you, dear readers. What was last week’s most talked about topic? You’re probably thinking  “Ebola” or maybe “ISIS attack on Kobani”.

It does seem rather logical to pick one of these topics, doesn’t it?

Well, dear readers, you are wrong. The most talked about topic was Beyoncé’s new haircut.

And more precisely, the fact that it may be – in some people’s opinion- the worst haircut choice she has ever made.

Beyoncé’s new bangs led to a complete meltdown of the internet and  –more worryingly- the often ruthless comments that soon followed on Twitter went viral and the many insults (or as the Tweeples would call it: “funny remarks”) spread like wildfire. It was the biggest news event of the week, which is ironic since there are probably more troublesome things to worry about, definitely in a context of things going “viral” and “spreading like wildfire”. (Yes, I’m referring to the dramatic toll Ebola has already taken on Western Africa, but hey, you Tweeples were probably too busy tweeting about hair to be concerned about something like that.)

However, apart from the very annoying fact that something as random as Beyoncé’s new haircut was more important than a deadly epidemic, the news about Beyoncé’s bangs also worried me because it showcased how society refuses to let people change.

From the moment someone decides to change their looks, he or she (but in this case –feminist alert!- it’s almost always she) is greeted by other people’s often unwanted opinions. Beyoncé got bangs. So what? If Beyoncé wants to get a new haircut, she can f***ing get a new haircut. No need to go all crazy about it. Beyoncé demonstrated a great sense of fashion. Beyoncé showed balls. Beyoncé was brave. Something many of the people who were dissing her are too regressive and bigoted to ever be.

As you may have guessed from the tone of this post, this is a very personal topic to me. I still remember all the comments –before and after- I decided to cut off all my long hair and go for a pixie cut. I still remember all the remarks when I dyed my hair red.

Seriously. What is their problem? If I want to dye my hair, I will dye my hair. I don’t need your opinion. It is my hair. Mine. Not yours. So stay the hell out of it.

So after seeing Beyoncé being attacked all over the internet last week, I could only think of one thing: Thank God I’m not famous. If even I get judged by people sometimes when I decide to dye my hair in a colour that is not to their liking, I can’t even begin to imagine what it would be like if I were famous. Every time I would get a new haircut (which is rather often in my case), the press and the public would be on me like a naked Miley Cyrus on her wrecking ball!

Miley-Cyrus-Cuts-Off-Her-Hair

It is just a sad, sad thing. And unfortunately, Beyoncé wasn’t the first celebrity to get the full “Twitter treatment”. Remember when Miley Cyrus cut her hair? Or when Anne Hathaway dyed hers blonde? Yes, even when Michelle Obama got bangs one week before the inauguration of her husband, there was so much buzz going on all over the internet about her hair and whether or not it suited her, that for a moment her hairdo threatened to outshine the President’s inauguration. So she swiftly tried to tone down the comments by stating that her new bangs might be one of the first signs of her midlife crisis. Has it really come to that? That we have to justify our own hair  choices by blaming it on hormonal imbalances? Seriously, people??? Seriously?

Women, famous or not, constantly get judged by others based on how they look or how they dress. We have become so aware of all the scrutiny that many of us have become afraid to ever change the way they look, even if they really want to. We are afraid to take risks. Not because of how it may turn out, but because of how people will react to you changing. What will they think of me? Will they like the new me?

People who do dare to take the leap and change the way they look, whether that is by cutting or dying their hair or by embracing their own unique sense of style, are often frowned upon. Twitter may seem like a very modern and progressive thing, but when it comes to the people using it, it just goes to show how traditional and change-averse the medium really is.

We should be able to wear whatever we want. We should be able to do with our hair whatever the fuck we want. Your hair, your choice. No matter what all the Tweeples say. Remember: if Beyoncé is brave enough to do it. So are you .

7 comments on “Get Out Of My Hair: What Beyoncé’s New Bangs Taught Me About Society

  • You are right we took a modern thing to make a traditional case against change. However, this Beyonce thing is stupid. she could have done a bowl cut for all i care. I think people just take public figures to seriously. Its very easy to call out the bangs but less easy to email your congressman to not become zenophobic and start screening and making new crazy laws based on african heritage.

  • It really isn’t a big deal whether she got a haircut or not and I really don’t get all the people using social media to pick on her hair. I mean seriously, if we forget the fact that it is just a haircut and spending so much time talking about it and slandering it is ridiculous, think about who we’re talking about here. It’s Beyoncé for crying out loud. She could shave her head and wear a garbage bag and she’d still look like a goddess. And it is her body, her hair, her life, her decisions. Don’t these people have better things to do than sit by their computers saying things like “I hate your new haircut. You look awful”?

    Thanks for a great post! I like your blog.

    xx Alexis (Fashion A)

  • Leave a Reply

