Baking With Booze: Campari Orange Cake

Published August 22, 2014 by The Feminist

Although my Baking with Booze series is an experiment all on its own, it wasn’t until I was baking this Campari Orange cake that I realized how risky these desserts were. With this cake, I was truly touching in the dark. Basically, I just improvised all the way through. It could have gone horribly, horribly wrong, but for some mysterious reason (I call it “being a baking genius”) it turned out to be the most wonderful cake you will have ever tasted!

Seriously, making sure that the levels of sweet and bitter marry beautifully together was a demanding balancing act. I wanted the cake to be sweet, but not too sweet. I wanted to be able to taste that typical Campari flavour, but without it being too grimacingly  bitter.

I swear, I was so nervous when I was about to taste this cake. (I even detected some heart palpitations!)

But once I took a bite out of  this cake, all my worries evaporated.

Mark my words: this cake is ridiculously delicious.

Furthermore, it was also ridiculously easy to make.

So yes, you would be an idiot not to bake it yourself.

The One and Only Campari Orange Cake

Ingredients:

  • 125gr ground almonds
  • 40gr plain flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 50gr caster sugar
  • 1 knob of butter (approx. 1 tbsp)
  • 50ml of olive oil
  • Zest and juice of 1 orange
  • 100ml Campari
  • 2 eggs

For the syrup:

  • 100gr caster sugar
  • 70ml Campari

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 160°C. Line a loaf tin with baking parchment.
  2. Mix together the oil, butter, eggs, Campari, orange zest and orange juice. Your mixture will look disgusting at this stage (totally normal!)
  3. Stir in the caster sugar, flour, baking powder and ground almonds.
  4. Pour the batter into the baking tin and bake in the oven for 45 minutes.
  5. Just before removing the cake from the oven, make your syrup. Bring the sugar and Campari to the boil on a low heat and let it reduce until you get a lovely syrup.
  6. Once the cake has come out of the oven, drizzle the syrup over the top. You can use all the syrup or only half of it (depends on how boozy you want your cake 😉 ).
  7. Let the cake cool completely before slicing it into thin (or thick) slices. The cake should be firm enough to slice, but still feel moist in the middle and taste as light as a feather when it goes into your mouth.
5 comments on “Baking With Booze: Campari Orange Cake

  • Leave a Reply

