Speedy Suppers: Vegetarian Fast Food

Published July 4, 2014 by The Feminist

supper

Now that I’m officially a career woman, I often am far too tired in the evening to spend a lot of time cooking my ass off. So instead I try to make splendid dishes with as little ingredients as possible in as little time as possible.
If you think this cannot be done, think again! Because with the right attitude you can conjure up the most original and healthy vegetarian meal in a heartbeat!
So take note, because you will want to make these dishes time and time again!

 
Barbecue Tofu and Mango Wrap
I still have to meet the first person who doesn’t like barbecue sauce. I mean, what’s not to like: it’s sticky, spicy, smoky and sweet all rolled into one delicious dip! However, most people aren’t as creative as they can be when it comes to this yummy sauce, because they always combine it with meat.
Meat.
Phah!
Bloody carnivores!
This recipe gives a more modern-day, quirky twist to the otherwise classic barbecue-meat combination. Instead of meat I used tofu, and instead of classic I want for bold fusion with a tortilla wrap!
DSCN3969

 

Ingredients (serves 1)

For the tofu:
• 60gr of firm tofu, cut into cubes
• 4 -6 tbsp of your favourite barbecue sauce
For the wrap:
• 2 tortilla corn wrap
• ½ mango, finely sliced
• Fresh coriander
• Variety of finely chopped veg (I used peppers, radishes and lettuce)
Method:
1. Toss the tofu cubes in half of the barbecue sauce. Heat a tablespoon of vegetable oil in a non-stick frying pan and fry the tofu for a couple of minutes. Now stir in the remaining barbecue sauce. This will make the tofu all lovely and sticky. Yum!
2. Assemble the wrap by putting a mix of different vegetables onto your wrap. Now add the tofu and the delicate slices of mango and finish with fresh coriander.

Indian Carrots and Peas with Peanut Curry Sauce
Carrots and peas. Peas and carrots. It is probably one of the most classic combinations here in tiny Belgium. Unfortunately, most of us opt for the traditional version and eat with it –you guessed it!- meat. And potatoes.
How boring.
I decided to try something entirely different and turned these two veggies into an Indian feast with coconut and peanut sauce. This is a dish that may look really strange but is as delicious as Matt Bomer on a red carpet event. (As in: very yummy) Serve with naan bread or steamed rice.

DSCN3977
Ingredients (serves 1):
• 150gr frozen peas
• 6 spring carrots, roughly chopped
• 1 tsp nigella seeds
• ¼ tsp ginger powder
• ¼ tsp chili flakes
• ½ tsp turmeric powder
• 2 tbsp desiccated coconut
For the peanut sauce:
• 2 tbsp coconut milk
• 2 tbsp peanut butter
• 1 tbsp tandoori powder
• ½ tbsp. soy sauce
Method:
1. Heat a tablespoon of vegetable oil in a small pan and add the spices together with the carrots. Sauté for a couple of minutes and then add a good splash of water to make sure the carrots don’t burn.
2. Add the peas and let them cook for a further 5 minutes until everything is all tender and fragrant.
3. Finish with a sprinkling of desiccated coconut and fresh coriander.
4. Meanwhile, make the peanut sauce by mixing all the ingredients together in a bowl.

 
Spiced Bulgur with Strawberries and Mozzarella salad
Remember the strawberry and goat’s cheese pizza I made a couple of weeks ago? Well, I guess it is safe to say that I am getting slightly addicted to the strawberry-cheese-balsamic combination. It is just so God damn intriguing… and delicious. I added some lovely fragrant bulgur wheat for an extra bold touch.

DSCN3991
Ingredients (serves 1):
• 200gr strawberries, sliced
• 150gr mozzarella, sliced
• Balsamic syrup
• 100gr bulgur wheat
• 2 spring onions, finely chopped
• Handful of dried cranberries
• Pinch of chili flakes
• ½ tsp cumin seeds
• ½ tsp fennel seeds

Method:
1. Cook the bulgur according to the instructions on the package. Add a tablespoon of olive oil in a small pan and add all the spices and other ingredients and then add the cooked bulgur.
2. Serve in the middle of the plate and decoratively (or not) layer the mozzarella and strawberries around that delicious pile of bulgur.
3. Finish with some balsamic syrup and freshly ground pepper.

9 comments on “Speedy Suppers: Vegetarian Fast Food

  • I would seriously eat all of that! So great to finally see someone eating vegetarian food that’s not too extreme. I’ve been a vegetarian for about 10 years but what people don’t seem to understand is that just cause I’m vegetarian doesn’t mean that I love to eat extremely weird vegetables all day long. Not every vegetarian person loves to eat peppers, beans and peas. So I’m thrilled that you posted recipes that I would to try myself and actually know I will enjoy 🙂
    X Sofie

  • Looks great! I especially like the mango tofu wrap. BTW, I’m not intending to unfollow you, but having some issue where people I’m following suddenly get unfollowed. I’ve already chatted with wordpress about this, but couldn’t find anything wrong. It’s annoying, but I’m glad I caught it.

  • Leave a Reply

