These Are A Few of My Favourite Things: Ed Sheeran’s Multiply, Lupita’s Face and Chaotic Lingerie Sales

Published June 26, 2014 by The Feminist

things

“Some things are better left unsaid.” It’s a phrase that is often used by wannabe philosophers, big-headed people managers and women obsessed with Adele songs. And although there is some truth to be found in this statement – hell, I definitely don’t want to get in a fight with Adele fans! – I honestly believe that in most cases, the entire notion of keeping quiet is utter bullshit.

Why would you ever want to keep quiet, when you have so many brilliant things to say? Right?

Right???

So in order to illustrate how therapeutic it can be to say what is on your mind, here is a list of my favourite things that happened this week!

 

1)      Ed Sheeran’s X

ed-sheeran-sing-2014

I know I have said this plenty of times before, and I will keep repeating myself until everyone on this earth agrees with me, but I simply adore Ed Sheeran. He is the Man. He is my Man. And unless you’re an emotionless, grumpy guttersnipe, I really don’t understand why you wouldn’t want Ed to become your Man as well. His new album X, as in multiply, came out this week and it is –surprise!- a piece of heartfelt, genuine, musical poetry. He is able to multiply styles, genres and melodies like a true musical Einstein and shifts from acoustic ballads, to rhythmic, rocky tunes to edgy British rap. No matter what genre it is, each song sounds like a personal page from his own diary and I’m sure every listener will find a personal favourite among his wide variety of emotional songs. My personal favourites are I’m a Mess (Go figure, me too!), One (tissue!), Thinking Out Loud (more tissues!) and Take it Back (Singalong!)

Take it from me, this album will simply sweep you off your feet. In short, X does not just stand for Multiply, it also stands for Ed’s X factor.

 

2)      Lupita for Lancome

Lupita

As you may already have heard, Lupita Nyong’o (yes, probably the most gorgeous woman on the planet) was named the new face of Lancome a couple of months ago, and now (finally!) the first picture of the campaign has arrived.

Be still my beating heart!

Needless to say, Lupita looks as flawless as can be. Even Beyoncé – the Queen of Flawlessness-  suddenly seems a wilted flower compared to Lupita’s beautiful face. Lupita personally shared the image on her Instagram page and called it “ the secret I never intended to keep”, since the images for the campaign were originally to become public as late as September. So thank God for Lupita.

Thank God for Lupita!

3)      Lingerie. What else?

DSCN3981

You might have been wondering why I have been such an irregular blogger all of a sudden. Well, let me tell you a little secret: I am no longer part of the “young crowd”. I am no longer a university student. I am now officially a grown-up.

I have a job.

I.Have. A. Job.

A serious, adult, going-to-the-office, 9-to-5 job.

Needless to say, at first I was completely terrified (As in: “OMG, I have to pay taxes!”) and got home every night exhausted. Hence the lack of blog posts.

However, my job also has its benefits! I work for a lingerie company and today we all were invited to go to the company’s enormous lingerie sale. There was chaos everywhere: women throwing around bras and taking off their trousers in the middle of the hall, but it was by far the most awesome event of the week. I was so high on adrenaline, I thought I was going to bite someone! (Now  I know what that guy Suarez must have felt like…) I ended up buying two amazing lingerie sets, which are ridiculously expensive in store, but was able to buy for next to nothing! To avoid envious looks, I will not tell how much they actually cost or how much I paid for them, but let me just say this: Working for a lingerie company definitely has its perks!

PS: Is it weird to post pics of my newly bought lingerie, dear readers? I sincerely hope not. But if so, too bad, because with brilliant bras comes brilliant bragging!

8 comments on “These Are A Few of My Favourite Things: Ed Sheeran’s Multiply, Lupita’s Face and Chaotic Lingerie Sales

  • Leave a Reply

