An Elaborate Dessert for An Elaborate Writer: Rococo Rhubarb and White Chocolate Cake

Published June 20, 2014 by The Feminist

rococo

Rococo. Apart from this word’s very alluring and joyous syllables, I have always been a fan of Rococo because of its decorative style of art. I love how Rococo is anything but subtle. How it is abundantly rich in ornamentation. Decoration… foliage… flowers… animals… joy… love… wit…

It is basically a visual representation of my very own brain, because just like Rococo, I am anything but subtle.

I don’t do sober. I decorate.

I twist and twirl, jump and jive, rock and roll.

Whether it’s my thoughts, my fashion style or my writing, I never manage to stick to the basics. I elaborate. I elaborate a lot. Why would I want to remember easy riddles, if I can plunge myself into a maze of thought-provoking wizardry? Why would I wear basic jeans, if I can put on a psychedelic printed peplum skirt? Why would I want to get my point across using but a few words, if I can use an entire Oxford dictionary?

Basically, Rococo is me in art-form. Or maybe I am Rococo in human form?

Whatever it is, I just want you to know that being elaborate is okay. It is okay to decorate your emotions with extremes. From high degrees of lightness and petite prettiness, to ravenous intensity and profound melancholia.

In Rococo, there is no such thing as moderate elaboration.

Not in thoughts, not in fashion, not in words…

And definitely not in food.

This delicious rhubarb cake is the embodiment of Rococo. It may not look very decorative, but once you’ve tasted it, you will realize why this cake is rococoppropriate. Not even the biggest, oldest, Shakespearean-approved dictionary will suffice to describe the taste of it.

The sharpness of the rhubarb (tons and tons of rhubarb!) gives a tart flavour, the white chocolate is like a heavenly sweet hug and the gluten free body of the cake (I used ground almonds only) makes it delectably moist and scrummy.

This cake Ro(coco)cks.

Believe me.

DSCN3956

Ingredients:

  • 80gr white chocolate
  • 35gr butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 40gr caster sugar
  • 4 large rhubarb sticks
  • 2 tbsp ground almonds, plus extra to decorate
  • ¾ tsp baking powder
  • Handful of chopped pistachios

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 170°C. Line a small rectangular baking tin with baking parchment.
  2. Heat a knob of butter in a small pan and sauté the rhubarb with 2 tbsp of caster sugar until tender. Remove from the heat.
  3. In another pan, melt the butter and white chocolate together. Stir until combined.
  4. In a large bowl, whisk the eggs and sugar together until pale and smooth. Slowly pour in the melted chocolate-butter mixture and mix well.
  5. Stir in the baking powder and ground almonds and pour the mixture into the baking tin.
  6. Scatter the stewed rhubarb into cake mix. It is a lot of rhubarb, I know. But believe me, it is worth it. It will create a lovely moist cake, packed full of rhubarby goodness!
  7. Sprinkle some chopped pistachios over the top and finish with an extra sprinkling of ground almonds.
  8. Bake in the oven for 25-30 minutes.

DSCN3958

10 comments on “An Elaborate Dessert for An Elaborate Writer: Rococo Rhubarb and White Chocolate Cake

  • Hej – I came to have a look since you so nicely liked my post, and I just want to say that this cake looks so good! Might even get my rhubarb-hating partner to eat rhubarb!

  • Leave a Reply

