The Revival We Have All Been Waiting For? The Return of Coloured Mascara

Published June 18, 2014 by The Feminist

blue-mascara-makeup

When I was sixteen years old, I went to London for the very first time. We were staying in a large hotel in the buzzing center of town and when we were on our way up to our room, a woman stepped into our elevator. She was clearly going to/ or coming back from a party, considering her rather extravagant (mind you, “extravagant” in this case is my euphemistic way of saying “slutty”) outfit.

Apart from her R-Rated outfit, there was something else that was entirely shocking: her fluorescently blue mascara.

Honestly, dear readers. I think those astronauts up in the ISS space station were able to see her lashes!

When she stepped out of the elevator, my mom whispered in my ear: “somebody clearly is stuck in the 80s!

I giggled.

Surely, why would anyone want to wear mascara like that?

Why the hell was it ever popular to begin with?

I was utterly gobsmacked by her glow-in-the-dark presence and swore never ever (not in a million years!) to wear coloured mascara…

not ever…

not in my entire life!

Flash forward to 2014:

Surprise! What used to be a beauty trend linked with eighties teenage punk heads, has now become a statement signature make-up trend for avant-garde fashionistas, new wave hipsters and in-style ladies. Coloured mascara is hot.

I had never thought I would ever say it, but it is true.

Fashion world has gone colour-obsessed again.

And since I am already busy stating things I would have never thought I would say, here is another mind-blowing confession: I absolutely love it.

No, scratch that.

I am blown away/ crazy in love/ creepily obsessed with coloured mascara, the 2014 edition.

Sue me, but it is just so damn fab.

Because when used correctly, it is incredibly alluring and a sneaky tool to boost your natural eye colour. If you’re still not so sure about this whole coloured mascara thing, I advise you to start with darker colours such as emerald green or burgundy. They are very subtle, but still quirkier than the traditional black. If you’re ready to go all out, there is the traditional blue (in all its different shades), but do try some of the more “hipper” colours, such as purple, orange, or –my personal favourite- hot pink!

The summer collection for Chanel is worth spending your money on.

mascara chanel violet and orange

But my personal favourite is the Dior Addict It Lash Mascara. Not only does the campaign pictures looks sooooo coooool, they also have a flashy eye –liner collection (called It Line)!

mascare dior addict

dior it lash

Seriously, dear readers. Give me one solid reason why you wouldn’t want to wear this?

PS: if you’re still in doubt (wussy!) you can always apply one coat of black mascara first and then use a colored mascara to highlight your lash tips!

14 comments on “The Revival We Have All Been Waiting For? The Return of Coloured Mascara

  • I remember wearing colored mascara back in junior high, but once I hit 15, I swore I’d never wear it again. Even so, when done right, it can be kind of awesome…you might have convinced me to try it again!

  • I absolutely love your writing stlye! I love the honesty of your post as well. I am glad I stumbled upon your page because from what I have seen of it so far it’s totally fab. Keep it up 🙂 xox

  • Well, if I had lashes like that, I would have no hesitation to wear a few of those lovely colours! Unfortunately, I don’t like fake lashes, especially the glue! Actually, quite a lot of people have real lashes like the female in the picture and I guess it’s their time to shine! Cheers! 🙂

  • Leave a Reply

