Looking For Frenchspiration: Lavender and Lemon Curd Cupcakes

Published June 10, 2014 by The Feminist

french

Imagine you’re craving something sweet but don’t have a lot of baking ingredients lying around. Imagine you’re hungry. Imagine you’re me.

Well, then you would probably look across the Belgian border and get your inspiration from the French. France is known for its classic and yet simple desserts and tarts, so it would have been absurd not to go in search of some Frenchspiration!

So there I was, sitting in my garden with the sun shining on my face, asking myself one simple question: If I were in the South of France right now, what would I want to eat? As if it were a sign from above, this stupid, annoying fly/bee/ weird-looking-and-flying-kind-of-object started harassing me. I chased it down the garden until the unidentifiable flying object managed to seek asylum in a bush of lavender.

Lavender!

The French Gods had spoken.

Lavender is probably the Frenchiest of things imaginable (Next to croissants and wine of course. ) and it is a marvelous ingredient to cook with. From lavender and honey roasted lamb shanks to lavender and apple tarte tatin. Lavender is  something that belongs in everyone’s kitchen, not just everyone’s bathroom.

Apart from the lavender, lemon is the other main flavour in this dainty cupcake. Since I didn’t have fresh lemons lying around, I decided to use my cherished jar of good quality lemon curd instead. It gave the cupcakes a zingy flavour and its sticky richness was hugging my dessert-loving heart.

Lavender and lemon are truly a match made in heaven. C’est l’amour.

Trust me. (The French know a thing or two about love.)

DSCN3933

Ingredients (makes 6):

  • 1 egg white
  • 1 jar of good quality lemon curd
  • 1 ½ tsp fresh lavender, finely chopped (plus some extra to garnish)
  • 20gr butter
  • 60ml milk
  • 60gr plain flour
  • 70gr caster sugar
  • ¾ tsp baking powder

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 170°C. In a large bowl, mix together the butter, sugar, flour and baking powder until you get a sandy consistency.
  2. Stir in the lavender and pour in the milk. Mix well.
  3. Add the egg white and whisk until everything is combined. Stir in a tablespoon of lemon curd.
  4. Pour the mixture into your cupcake cases and bake in the oven for 20 minutes.
  5. Leave to cool completely before spreading a generous layer of lemon curd on top. Finally, sprinkle on some extra lavender
  6. Bon Appétit!

 

 

13 comments on “Looking For Frenchspiration: Lavender and Lemon Curd Cupcakes

  • I often have issues when I try to add lavender to things. Is there any bit of advice, you could provide me with in regards to using lavender. I have tried making lavender shortbread at least twenty times and the flavor is never right! help? xx

    • I know, it’s a bit tricky. The first thing I would say, is that there is a big difference between fresh lavender from your garden and the dried stuff you can buy in a store. Fresh lavender is not as strong, so it is less likely to overpower your cake. I always start with adding a little bit and then see whether it tastes “lavendery” enough and then add a little bit more if necessary. It’s always a trial and error process, I guess. 🙂

      • So if it is from your garden it can be used as “food grade” If fresh is lighter, I might have to grow some! So keep tasting and checking the flavor is correct or that I like it? I can do that! thanks !!!! 😀

  • This looks delicious! I agree with you about lavender and lemon. I’m currently looking for some. I’d like to make a lavender lemon olive oil cake…speaking of french. But these cupcakes may have derailed me!

  • Hello!

    My name is Joanna and I have read your blog and I really liked your recipes! I work for a website called myTaste.com and I would love for you to join us! 🙂

    http://www.mytaste.com is a search engine that collects food blogs. We already have over 3000 blogs and if you join us you will take benefit from the trafic that we are sending to your blog.

    Add our widget and hopefully with your recipes your blog will be on the top of the food blogs list!
    If you have any questions please don’t hesitate to contact me at info@mytaste.com

    To join myTaste, just go to http://www.mytaste.com/add-your-food-blog

    Best regards, Joanna
    mytaste.com

  • Leave a Reply

