Here Comes The Sun… Sort Of. Super Easy Summery Strawberry and Pistachio Tarts

Published June 2, 2014 by The Feminist

DSCN3918

I used to hate Mondays. It marks the beginning of a week full of work, stress, frantic grocery shopping and much, much more.

Until today. I forced myself to stop worrying about upcoming tasks. I told myself that it’s okay to take some me-time and relax. After all, Archimedes would never have discovered the Archimedes principle if he hadn’t taken the time to relax and take a bath. Isaac Newton would never have discovered gravity if he hadn’t taken the time to chill out under a tree. Shakespeare would never have written Romeo and Juliette, if he hadn’t taken the time to get drunk and pass out on his couch. (Actually, I don’t know whether that is true, but he just looks like someone who enjoyed to drink a lot of wine, so humor me for a second.)

So I asked myself the question: What would Shakespeare do?

He would probably tell me something like this:

Aren’t thou bored, Eveline? Aren’t thou bored of spending thy time doing shitty things? Thou should not spend the greenness of thy youth working thy arse off. Have faith in me, for I have faith in thee”

[In my head, Shakespeare sounds an awful lot like Peter Dinklage]

And then he added:

“Have a cup of tea and some nice strawberries.”

I don’t know about you, dear readers, but Shakespeare surely sounds like a trustworthy fellow. So I followed good ol’ William’s advice and had a very pleasant relaxing afternoon with a cup of tea and homemade strawberry tarts.

Although the weather outside was not exactly screaming heat wave, with these little tarts I was able to create my own sunshine. Call it an eternal sunshine of the spotless mind. (Shakespeare would have loved that.)

This delicious puff pastry tart is filled with a fresh Greek yoghurt-cream cheese mix with fragrant lime zest, and was topped with fresh strawberries and crunchy pistachios. It transported me to sunnier places.

In my head, it looked like this:

smile-big-8

Needless to say, my current surroundings were definitely not that tropical. But the fact that this tart managed to make me believe I was actually in such a magically exotic place, says a lot.

So thank you, Shakespeare. From now on, I will love Mondays!

DSCN3924

Ingredients:

  • One sheet of puff pastry
  • 1 egg
  • Honey
  • Pistachios, finely chopped
  • 250gr cream cheese
  • 120gr Greek Yoghurt
  • Zest of one lime
  • Fresh strawberries, sliced

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 200°C. Cut the puff pastry into four rectangular shapes and with a knife, lightly score a border of 0,5cm from the edges. Brush the edges with beaten egg. Bake in the oven for 15 minutes, or until golden and puffed up. Let it cool completely.
  2. Gently press the center of the tarts to make room for the filling. Brush the edges of the pastry with honey and sprinkle on some chopped pistachios.
  3. Mix the yoghurt and cream cheese together in a bowl. Add the lime zest and 2 tbsp of honey.
  4. Spoon the mixture onto the puff pastry tarts and garnish with strawberries. Finish with some extra pistachios.
9 comments on “Here Comes The Sun… Sort Of. Super Easy Summery Strawberry and Pistachio Tarts

  • Hahahaaa! Shakespeare aka Peter Dinklage!! That’s completely messed with my imagination! Anyway, love this post and its included recipe. You definitely cannot go wrong with such gorgeous fresh fruit, pastry and pistachios! Glad you’re finally getting some sunshine xx

  • Leave a Reply

