Campaigning With Curry: Easy Peasy Vegetable and Lentil Curry

Published May 17, 2014 by The Feminist

DSCN3846

It’s that time of the year again: When wannabe politicians harass you in the streets, when numerous pamphlets swamp your mailbox and when every television channel is airing some sort of heated debate about job creation, the economy or child benefits.

Yes, I’m talking about elections. If you live in Europe, you probably know what I’m talking about. If you live in Belgium, you definitely know what I am talking about. On 25 May we will all be going to the polls and it seems as if teeny weeny Belgium is sweating with election fever. It is everywhere and it is starting to drive me mad.

Don’t get me wrong, I actually love the excitement of it all, I love watching those political debates and I consider myself one of those awful people who has an opinion about everything. However, what I do hate are those people who go from door to door, trying to convince you to vote for them and their party.

Here is the thing, door-to-door peeps. I already know who I am going to vote for so sod off! And take your flyers with you.

I always think that there simply must be a better to way to convince people to vote for you than by ringing people out of their sofas on a lazy Saturday afternoon. I think every campaign advisor would agree with me, no?

week-in-review-darren-criss-gifs-confused

Okay, maybe not.

But consider this: would you rather vote for someone who hands you a flyer while stating his ideas and plans, or would you vote for someone who states his ideas and plans while he hands you a steaming bowl of vegetable curry?

what

Ha!

See!

A curry can convince even the most reluctant voters and can cheer up the grumpiest people. It is full of flavour, full of vitamins and…. this one in particular is 100% vegan.

Now that is what gets me excited!

So dear politicians: forget those boring flyers, try campaigning with curry. Victory will be yours, I promise 😉

Ps: this may seem like a long ingredient list but most of the items are spices you already should have in your cupboard…

Ingredients (serves 4)

  • 1 can of chopped tomatoes (400gr)
  • 500ml coconut milk
  • 1 tbsp palm sugar
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • ½ tsp ground cinnamon
  • ½ tsp mustard seeds
  • ½ tsp fenugreek
  • ½ tsp nigella seeds
  • 1 tsp ground coriander
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • ½ tsp ground ginger
  • 2 tbsp garam masala
  • 1 tbsp tandoori powder
  • 2 cans of red lentils (you can use fresh lentils, but I just did not have the time)
  • 250gr green beans, cut into 2cm pieces
  • 150gr sugar snaps
  • 1 yellow pepper, roughly chopped
  • 1 courgette, cut into chunks
  • 2 onions, sliced
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • Fresh coriander

Method:

  1. Heat a tablespoon of vegetable oil in a large pot. Stir in the onions, garlic and all the dry spices except the tandoori and garam masala. Fry for a couple of minutes.
  2. Add the chopped tomatoes and coconut milk. Bring to a simmer.
  3. Stir in the vegetables (except the lentils) and the palm sugar and let it simmer for half an hour. Season with salt and pepper, the tandoori powder and garam masala.
  4. Stir in the lentils and let it simmer for a further 5-10 minutes. Sprinkle on some chopped coriander before serving.
  5. Serve with rice or naan bread.
9 comments on “Campaigning With Curry: Easy Peasy Vegetable and Lentil Curry

  • Woops, I almost forgot about the elections! I have seen a couple of campaign posters here and there, but not much more than that. Perhaps it helps that I don’t have an actual front door and don’t watch a lot of tv. Heh. The curry looks absolutely amazing!

  • I thought it was funny, watching the political ads near my bus stop slowly getting defaced in the Czech Republic. Thanks for the recipe, looks simple and tasty!

  • Leave a Reply

