Going Old-School: Strawberry and Mascarpone Roulade

Published May 13, 2014 by The Feminist

oldschool roulade

My great grandfather came to visit us this weekend. As his title of “great grandfather” may suggest, he is rather old (I stopped asking how old he was because it was getting a bit embarrassing) and loves talking about the “good ol’ days”, “that time in the war” or how “today’s pop music is destroying our culture”.

Yes, I quite adore him. So when he came to visit, I decided to bake him something delicious. The only problem was that, given his age, he prefers to eat traditional, classic desserts. No room for funky cupcakes, extravagant brownies dunked in rum or anything that sounds vaguely exotic.

You can imagine that –for me (the crazy chick who likes to do funky stuff with food)- it was rather a challenge to stick to old-school baking. Sure, these conservative bakes can taste lovely but they are just not very exciting.

Since my great grandfather loves strawberries and cream, I decided to make a classic roulade cake. What do you think, dear readers? The cake certainly looks “vintage”, doesn’t it?

DSCN3853

But can I tell you a secret? I used a filling of mascarpone instead of whipped cream and added a couple of tablespoon of strawberry liqueur.

Naughty me.

Ssshhh. Please don’t tell him.

It’s our little secret.

Needless to say, the roulade cake tasted divine, and although I don’t like to admit it, there is just something extraordinarily comforting about classic, old-school desserts. However, I honestly believe that my secret addition of liqueur and mascarpone made all the difference flavour-wise. Just sayin’.

oldschool

Ingredients (serves 6)

  • 4 eggs, separated
  • 180g caster sugar
  • 1tbsp vanilla extract
  • 120g plain flour
  • 3/4tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 250gr mascarpone cheese
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 3 tbsp strawberry liqueur
  • 150ml whipped cream
  • 2 tsp icing sugar
  • Fresh strawberries
  • Praline, shop-bought or home-made

 

Method:

  1. Preheat your oven to 180C and line a baking tray with baking parchment.
  2. Whisk the egg whites until stiff but not dry. In another bowl whisk the egg yolks until pale and then gradually add the caster sugar and vanilla. Whisk until pale and fluffy.
  3. Sift the flour, baking powder and salt together, then add to the egg yolk mixture.
  4. Gently fold the egg whites into the batter. Pout onto the prepared baking tray, making sure it’s of even thickness and bake for 10 to 15 minutes until a light golden brown and springy to touch.
  5. Dust a tea towel with icing sugar and invert the hot sponge onto it. Beginning at the narrow edge, roll the sponge and towel up together, then cool seam down for 10 to 15 minutes.
  6. Meanwhile, make your strawberry and mascarpone filling. Chop some strawberries (6-8) and stir them into the mascarpone. Add 2 tbsp of honey and the strawberry liqueur.
  7.  Once cooled, gently unroll the cake and remove the tea towel and baking parchment. Spread with the mascarpone filling and re-roll the roulade.
  8. Whisk the whipped cream together with the icing sugar and spread onto the roulade. Decorate with fresh strawberries and a sprinkling of praline.
17 comments on “Going Old-School: Strawberry and Mascarpone Roulade

  • Hahaha! Even your choice of words (you used the word “lovely”) to describe this “old school” recipe is, well, old school! Personally, I loooove ❤ "old school" because the standard is set and you know when you have made the cut (pardon the pun)! The cake looks fabulous! 😉

  • Gorgeous, my nana used to make an amazing pavlova roulade when we were little, similar to his but made of pav. This took me back. What a fab great granddaughter you are. 🙂

      • It’s delicious (I didn’t have the strawberry liqueur so I added a few tbsp of whipping cream to the mascarpone). My cake cracked and I wonder if it’s because I wasn’t careful enough or did yours crack too? But, it’s easy to cover it up on the inside with the filling and on the outside with the whipped cream and strawberries! 🙂

  • Hi, I like this recipe so much I that I made chocolate Swiss roll with it by adding a couple tbsp of cocoa powder in the cake part but it didn’t turn out fluffy . . . I don’t know, maybe I got sloppy somewhere but shouldn’t it be the same consistency? Do you have a recipe for Chocolate Swiss Roll? Thanks so much!

    • Oh, I know exactly what your little problem was! A couple of months ago I did the exact same thing -adding cocoa powder- and i assumed it would never really change te outcome, but for some reason adding cocoa powder makes the entire sponge less airy, and a lot more heavier and chewy :s you really need to find a recipe that was especially made for a chocolate swiss roll 🙂 i don’t have one myself, but i am sure you can find something suitable on the internet 😉

      • Thanks so much for this info! I was thinking maybe I did something wrong or got sloppy or something like that.- good to know that it’s something else! Strange isn’t it? Thanks again! 🙂

  • Leave a Reply

