Things That Make Me Happy: Martini, New Perfume and a Good Dose of Michael Fassbender

Published May 9, 2014 by The Feminist

The past week has been a rollercoaster of mildly hysterical screams and utterly insane deadlines. In between some exhausting apartment-shopping, daunting writing assignments and depressing newsflashes about Syrian bombings and kidnapped Nigerian girls, you would almost forget to live and have a nice time. So I am honestly glad to say: Thank God it’s Friday.

Cuz, I needzz it… I needzz it badly.  

In order to forget all the horror in the world, I always have three simple tricks that help me relax. Now that the weekend is upon us, I thought it would be nice to share these tips with you all, since you clearly have nothing better to do than reading this post on a Friday night.

friday

TIP NR. 1: No Martini, No Party

martini

You can do plenty of things on a Friday night, but some alcohol is always a good start. I am one of those people who love some bitter sweet Martini. I always think it makes me look so classy and cool ( that’s probably the George Clooney effect), yes even when I’m drinking straight from the bottle.

So pour yourself a glass, dear readers. Put on some jazzy music and just have a good time. You deserve it!

TIP NR. 2: Wear Perfume

There is this famous quote by Christian Dior who says that “ a woman’s perfume tells more about her than her handwriting”. I couldn’t agree more! What better way to let your personality shine than by wearing a scent that embodies who you are and what you stand for, right? Moreover, it is just so much fun to go perfume shopping. All those cute bottles, those heavenly aromas, all those ladies with perfectly manicured nails offering to “spritz you”… It is simply the best.

So in an attempt to do some stress-free shopping, I decided to buy myself a new perfume.

IM10.Pyr 045

I bought Pleats Please by Issey Miyake. It know it is always hard to describe a scent, but let me give it a try: Intensely fruity. Hints of aromatic musk. Asian-inspired floral freshness. Oh yes, this fragrance is the epitome of femininity mixed with optimistic and youthful exuberance. Basically, it is Marilyn Monroe and Zoe Deschanel rolled into one beautiful bottle of perfume.

thumb

So yes, buying perfume makes me happy. Give it a go, dear readers. If it does not make you happy, at least you’ll still smell really nice 😉 . (Oh yeah, another benefit of buying perfume is that you are allowed to sniff yourself as many times as you want without people staring it you, thinking you’ve gone completely mad. )

TIP NR. 3: Go on a Bender… A Fassbender

michael

Seriously. Just looking at him makes me insanely giggly. Not only is our dear Fassy a really good actor and ridiculously handsome, his accent is to die for as well. So if you are in the mood for some instant happiness, all you need to do is watch an interview with Michael Fassbender and you will be chirping around the house in no time!

fassbender

What’s that you’re saying? You don’t believe me? Well, dear skeptical reader, I have the perfect way to persuade you, because Fassy was on the Graham Norton Show last week. He was funny, he was sweet and he even danced to Blurred Lines with buddies Hugh Jackman and James McAvoy.

fass graham norton

See? If even this gif can make you giggle, just imagine what the entire interview will do to you! Google it. Watch it. Dig it.

6 comments on “Things That Make Me Happy: Martini, New Perfume and a Good Dose of Michael Fassbender

  • The Fassbender and Jackman together! I couldn’t love Graham Norton anymore than I do. Will have take a sniff of the Issey Miyake as well. Nothing like a new perfume, a handsome bloke or two and a glass of something good to start the weekend.

  • You made me smile (and Michael made me swoon). And love your description of your new perfume 🙂 I agree with Dior – for years now I have been using the same perfume, and one perfume only. I have made attempts to find another one – would love to mix it up a bit – but no other perfume is ‘me’. Hope your weekend is going as wonderfully well as your friday was 🙂

  • Leave a Reply

