To Clutch or Not To Clutch: It Should No Longer Be A Question

Published April 29, 2014 by The Feminist

… Because clutches are absolutely awesome.

I have to admit that over the past few years, I have always admired clutches from afar, because even though they were adorable, elegant and wickedly cool, they always seemed far too impracticable to me. Especially in comparison to the ordinary bag, which you can just swing across your shoulder and use as a hiding place for practically everything (from make-up bags to blister emergency kits).

However, it is starting to get impossible not to fall in love with a clutch. They are everywhere. And they are pretty. So so so damn pretty.

Yes, they are still the most impractical bags on the planet, but oh my sweet Lord, some of them are just works of art! So now I am sort of obsessed with them and I really really want to buy one. They are the epitome of stylish extravaganza and they can pimp any ordinary outfit and turn it into something magical. The list below contains some of my favourite designer clutches. Needless to say that I cannot afford them. But a girl can dream.

In the meantime I will spend my time looking for a more affordable clutch that is at least slightly reminiscent of some of the absolutely bonkers clutches from my list.

Charlotte Olympia is the Queen of crazy clutches: this one is called “Shell shocked”

 

clutch charlotte olympia

Marchesa’s interpretation of flower power:

MARCHESA_Marisol_floral-embellished_suede_clutch_3_450_450

Alexander McQueen: master of psychedelic prints

clutch alexander

Jimmy Choo’s Cairo Clutch is simply divine

clutch choo cairo elaphe

This beautifully funky Watermelon clutch is by Edie Parker

clutch edie parker goed

Christian Louboutin: elegant pastel studs, who knew it was possible?

Christian-Louboutin-Mina-Studded-Box-Clutch

11 comments on “To Clutch or Not To Clutch: It Should No Longer Be A Question

  • We are so on the same page! I’ve been lusting after Charlotte Olympia’s pineapple clutch and that Alexander McQueen clutch all week. $500+ for a clutch = definitely out of my realm of possibilities!

  • Oh no!!!!! I have resisted clutches until now (there is something wrong with having to put your bag on the table/bar) but after seeing your amazing selection I think I will have to give up my resistance 😉 Which one are you thinking of getting?

    • well, they are all way too expensive, so I think I will buy a cheaper version at Zara or something 😉 If I had the money I would buy the charlotte olympia one, but that was about 3000 euros if I’m not mistaken (aka not within my budget )

  • Leave a Reply

