Summertime Sweetness: Mango and Lime Coconut Cake With a Gin Syrup

Published April 26, 2014 by The Feminist

DSCN3821

I think I am going through a coconut phase. I simply can’t seem to get enough of it. Whether it is coconut milk, cream or oil, I somehow end up throwing it in practically all of my dishes, from savory curries to sugary desserts.

Oh yes, I am going coconuts. (Pardon the silly word play.)

One of the reasons for my coconut phase is my desire for hot and sunny weather. I even think this droopy winter has made me a bit bonkers in the head, because I honestly keep having day dreams about bounty white beaches, waving palm trees and hot dudes stepping out of the sea in tight speedo shorts…

Mmmm….

Wait, where was I?

Oh yeah, coconut.

This time I decided to use desiccated coconut in a lusciously exotic cake that is totally reminiscent of summer, hot and steamy weather and cocktail parties. The coconut gives this cake a sweet aroma but is not too overpowering and works wonders in combination with the zingy lime. The virgin white sponge is dotted with bright spots of gorgeously juicy mango and last but not least, there is a gin syrup to transport you to one of those sunny Caribbean beaches.

Summer may still be a couple of months away, but at least I have this cake to keep me warm until it arrives.

DSCN3817

Ingredients:

  • 170gr self-rising flour
  • 55gr desiccated coconut
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 egg
  • Zest of half a lime
  • Juice of one lime
  • 80gr caster sugar
  • 30gr soy spread
  • 165gr Greek Yoghurt
  • 2 tbsp soy milk
  • ¾ mango, diced

For the gin syrup:

  • 1 tbsp caster sugar
  • 2 tbsp Gin (I used Bombay Sapphire Gin East)

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C and line a cake tin with baking parchment.
  2. Mix the dry ingredients together in one bowl and make a well in the middle.
  3. Lightly mix together the soy spread (or butter), yoghurt, egg and milk and pour into the well.
  4. Mix vigorously using all the arm muscles you’ve got but don’t beat the mixture for too long, otherwise you will get a tough dough.
  5. Stir in the juice and zest of lime and the diced mango.
  6. Pour the mixture into your baking tin and bake in the oven for 35 to 40 minutes.
  7. Once your cake comes out of the oven, quickly heat the gin with sugar until the sugar has dissolved. Now pour the syrup over the hot cake and let it soak up all the delicious booziness.

 

22 comments on “Summertime Sweetness: Mango and Lime Coconut Cake With a Gin Syrup

  • I’m having a thing with coconut,too, as you may have noted on my blog. I have many more recipes I’ d like to post, but tell myself my readers must be getting tired of coconut. Then this wonderful cake pops up in my face, and I must make it. Thanks so much for this one!

  • This sounds yum! I’m a sucker for gin but I’m thinking this could also be good with rum! I recently made an exotic jam with mango and rum, and those went really well together. Now I’ll need to find an occasion to make this cake!

  • Approximately how much lime juice did you use? The limes we have around here are small but the taste is phenomenal so I need a measurement of the juice needed for the recipe. Thanks! 🙂

  • My eldest daughter said this recipe looks “the bomb ,especially the gin sauce!”
    Glad someone asked about the soy spread as my middle daughter is allergic to soy….go figure!

  • Leave a Reply

