Lighter days: The Chocolate Avocado Mousse Project

Published April 10, 2014 by The Feminist

Image

It is no secret that I love baking and that I adore eating decadent desserts. My afternoon treats often involve loads of chocolate and heaped hills of sugar, which –as we all know- are not really that good for your health. (Bummer!)

Although the naughty cakes and pies on my blog may make you think otherwise, I truly believe that healthy eating is the way to go. Not only will it keep me from exploding out of my jeans (‘cuz I can still rock a crop top, high five!), it also helps keeping my mind –not just my body- in shape (Mens sana in corpore sano, and all that.)

Now, before you start complaining “but naughty treats are just so damn good!”, remember that the lighter version can be naughty too. All you need is a good dollop of sassiness and a large spoon of adventurous spirit!

Die-hard readers will probably remember the delicious and healthy muffins I baked a couple of weeks ago, or the most brilliant brownies on the planet I baked a couple of months back. These were both daring and bold bakes, but also very delicious and healthy!

The only problem with lighter baking so far is that many people frown upon the array of strange looking and sounding ingredients (I can’t blame them, they often do sound terribly frightening!). That is why I prefer to stick to ingredients that are widely available in supermarkets, which makes the recipes both easier and less expensive.

Last week, I was craving chocolate mousse. (Fun fact: I normally never crave chocolate mousse, because I find it dreadfully boring, but for some reason I really needed some smooth, comforting chocolaty goodness.) There was only one problem: I didn’t have any in the fridge. And I didn’t want to go to shop to go and buy the ingredients, because I wanted it now and not a couple of hours later. (Or maybe I was just too lazy?) What I did have lying around in my fridge was an avocado… and so my experimental journey of trying to make a chocolate avocado mousse began!

Chocolate avocado mousse is a big thing on many vegan/ healthy diet blogs. I always thought the idea was fascinating, but never attempted making one, because –like I said- I usually don’t eat chocolate mousse. However, I was now on a mission: I really wanted to obtain the lightest chocolate mousse possible but one that was still bursting with flavour.

The fruits of my labour resulted in this heavenly glass of chocolate avocado mousse. It was good, dear readers. Really good. Could you tell that it wasn’t made with eggs and double cream? Maybe. But was it still damn tasty and oh so comforting? Hell yeah!

Please don’t let the avocado freak you out! It adds creaminess without the actual cream. What more could you possibly desire? 😉

Ingredients (makes 2 glasses)

  • 1 avocado
  • 4 tbsp soy milk
  • 1 tbsp  cocoa powder
  • 1 tbsp dark chocolate chips
  • 2 -3 tbsp honey (depending on how sweet you want it)
  • Handful of fresh raspberries

Method:

  1. Put the avocado, soy milk, cocoa and honey in a blender and mix until you get a mousse texture. Melt the chocolate chips and stir the melted chocolate in the avocado mousse.
  2. Spoon the mixture in the glasses and decorate with raspberries (optional)
  3. If you want you can add other types of fruit (like mango) or sprinkle some extra chocolate biscuits on top (this, of course, will make it less light 😉 )
12 comments on “Lighter days: The Chocolate Avocado Mousse Project

  • This sounds deliciuos – I have some cocoa powder arriving from iHerb soon and I think this will be heavenly. I don’t particularly like soy milk, so I will try it with coconut milk. I love the taste of coconut and chocolate in any case!

  • Leave a Reply

