How to Survive in a Post ‘How I Met Your Mother’ Era: Watch The Mindy Project

Published April 7, 2014 by The Feminist

Almost one week ago, the much anticipated (and dreaded) finale of the best comedy TV series on the planet How I Met Your Mother was aired and left us all with a gigantic –nay, legendary!– hole in our hearts.

What are we going to watch next? That is the million dollar question that lies on all our lips. Yes, you could watch some Friends re-runs or indulge in some Big Bang Theory “binge watching”, but this very sad moment in television history might be the ideal occasion to discover a new comedy TV series, like… say… the Mindy Project.

The Mindy Project, of course, is not a brand new show (the pilot episode was aired somewhere in 2012) but for some odd reason it is not very well known across the Atlantic ( in this funny place called Europe). When I talk to friends and say how much I love the Mindy Project they frown and look at me in bewilderment. They had never heard of it and maybe some of you –my dearest readers- haven’t heard of it either.

It’s a shame, because it is completely awesome. And bonkers. And over the top. And bonkers. And hilarious. And crazy. And bonkers.

And.. oh yeah, did I mention that it is bonkers?

I often ask myself: why the hell am I watching this? But then I realize… it’s because Mindy gets me. She says out loud all the things I only dare to silently mumble in the hope that no one notices. She is like the American version of Bridget Jones, but with much nicer hair…

And here is a fun fact: Did you know that on the exact same day of the last episode of HYMYM , the Mindy Project returned after a mid-season break? Talking about destiny!

In order to convince you of the brilliant craziness that is the Mindy Project, I decided to give you a list of all the things Mindy and I have in common:

1)      We love chocolate fountains

mindy chocolate

2)      We are crazy ass smart

mindy smart

… But why does nobody see that??

3)      We both have trouble defining what’s more important in a guy: beauty or brains

mindy brain angy

4)      Why can’t guys talk about their bloody feelings??

mindy feelings

…Why, dudes? Why?

5)      We are both very rational people…sort of.

mindy outdoors

6)      We know what we want

mindy picky

But maybe those standards are a little bit too high…

mindy want

7)      So yeah, we both really really like Michael Fassbender

mindy fassbender

… But, I mean, who doesn’t??

8)      We both watch too much Scandal

mindy pope

9)      We have the same problem…

mindy problems

10)   And then the last one…

mindy flea

 

 

8 comments on “How to Survive in a Post ‘How I Met Your Mother’ Era: Watch The Mindy Project

  • Hahaa! Cheers for reminding me how funny and sweet Mindy actually is. I’d watched a few eps when I was in a grumpy mood (and appreciated The Big Bang Theory just before) and was starting to dislike the ridiculousness of it. But I’m so going to start watching again, thank you!

  • Love the Mindy Project! A good alternative comedy fix (if you haven’t done so yet or done so quite a while ago) is to watch The Office, also starring Mindy, if you handle the laughs of course. Was anyone else slighty disappointed in HIMYM’s ending? 😦

  • Leave a Reply

