Sunday Shenanigans: Orange Lipstick, a Flapper Dress and Possibly the Best Movie Ever.

Published March 9, 2014 by The Feminist

sunday

As you all know, yesterday was International Women’s Day. Although I like to believe that every day should be women’s day (because we are so damn awesome!), I would like to dedicate this post to all the women out there who may often feel misunderstood, neglected or simply ignored.

We are women. We should be proud of that. Don’t let anybody tell you that you should tone down your feminine side, if you want to fit into a world dominated by male prejudice and machismo.

Being feminine is who we are. So embrace it.

Therefore, dear readers, this post is going to be about the girliest things imaginable. It is going to be about lipstick, glittery dresses and –oh yes!- romcoms. So get the hell of my blog, boys! For once, this is a “women’s only” blog.

Girly Thought Nr. 1: Orange lipstick: Yay or Nay?

Orange lipstick seems to be everywhere this spring: Fendi, John Galliano or my personal favourite MSGM,… all these brilliant designers showcased very perky lips in literally every shade of orange, ranging from pastel peach to vibrant clementine. I absolutely love this colour, for it gives you an incredible sixties Hollywood glamour vibe.

orange MSGM

The only question is: what about our teeth?

I mean, on the catwalk these beautiful orange-lipped models keep their lips tightly sealed, and the Hollywood A-listers on the red carpet have plenty of money to bleach their teeth into an almost glow-in-the-dark white.

orange bosworth

orange chastain

But what about those who don’t regularly bleach our teeth? I somehow have this hunch that if I were to wear orange lipstick, my teeth (which look rather nice, I might add)  would suddenly look like I’ve been smoking a packet of cigarettes every day ever since the day that I was born.

So what do you think about orange lipstick, dear ladies? Yay or nay?

Girly Thought Nr.2: I bought a Flapper Dress!

For over a year now, I have been looking for a one-and-only flapper dress. A dress that would make me look like a Roaring Twenties diva. A dress that would turn me into a modern-day Daisy Buchanan. A dress that would make me shine…

And I’ve finally found it.

DSCN3720

Needless to say, it is splendidly awesome.

The only thing missing right now, is an old-school Prohibition cocktail and…oh yeah, a Gatsby lookalike.

Girly Thought Nr. 3: About Time is probably the best movie you’ll ever see…

… in your entire life!

When About Time came out in theatres a couple of months ago, I really wanted to go and see it. However, life got in the way (as always!) and I only was able to see it a couple of nights ago, (when I was in the mood for something gooeyly romantic and sappy). Although I always love films with Rachel McAdams, I thought About Time would rank somewhere between “okay” and “pretty good”.

About Time trailer - video

But… this film was much more than just “pretty good”. This film was perfect. I can’t explain why, but it just is. It is the magical combination of the Notebook meets Notting Hill. It is about time travel (say wuuuut?) and it has a really cheesy message at the end, which –in all its cheeziness- still grabs you by the throat like a poisonous river snake.

One of the possible explanations for my love for this movie is the very Britishness of it all. It is set in London and Cornwall, everyone speaks with such a lovely British accent (except Rachel McAdams of course) and then there is Domhnall Gleeson, who plays the lead character. He is a skinny young man, with messy red hair and the most endearing facial expressions in film history. He is like Ron Weasley, only hundred times better. Domhnall Gleeson is the true star in this ground-breaking romcom. His disarming ordinariness sweeps you off your feet in a way even Hugh Grant in his golden days was never able to.

So yes, it is “about time” you watch it as well.

15 comments on “Sunday Shenanigans: Orange Lipstick, a Flapper Dress and Possibly the Best Movie Ever.

  • i say YAY to orange lipstick. i myself, as a rule, never wear lipstick. my lips are pretty thin, and i like to think of them as more of a beak-like feature than lips hahaha . in any case, there is a woman that is a regular at my work and she rocks that orange lipstick with her flaming red hair like nobodies business! it’s been her staple for over 20 years. she actually stockpiles the stuff (no joke). she will just be so pleased to hear about it’s resurgence into the fashion/beauty world.

  • I have been searching for the perfect orange lipstick since 2 years. Just recently, I found one from Mac, and as soon as my money worries will be over, I will buy it. I didn’t think about my teeth to be honest, but I have never really had yellow teeth. My problem is with carious :’D
    Oh, and Domhnall Gleeson really played Ron Weasley’s older brother Bill Weasley who marries Fleur Delacour, the beautiful french girl :’D

  • I’ve been looking for a flapper dress for a while – I can’t imagine when I’d have occasion to wear it mind! And I’ve not worn orange lipstick since I was a teenager, which is odd given how much I loved it then – I think I’m going to have to dig some out!

  • “Magical combination of The Notebook meets Notting Hill” and “the very Britishness of it all” — seems like this film is made for me! I saw a trailer in the cinema last year and was intrigued, but I forgot about it after that. Must watch this now! 🙂

  • I happened to watch the movie after reading your post and agree with every word! Absolutely delightful!..watched it yesterday and am still basking in the joy of it all.. thanks for the great recommendation!

  • Leave a Reply

