Oscars 2014: Red Carpet Beauties

Published March 3, 2014 by The Feminist

Last night was the night we – fashion divas par excellence– had all been waiting for: the Oscar 2014 red carpet!

Without further ado, here are my favourite looks of the evening.

oscar cate blanchett

Cate Blanchett was one of the big winners of the night. Not just because she won an Oscar for Best Actress for her brilliant performance in Blue Jasmine, but also because she looked like a true modern-day goddess in that Giorgio Armani dress.

oscar lupita

One of the other winners, Hollywood’s newest it-girl Lupita Nyong’o, looked stunning in this low-cut baby blue Prada gown.

oscar jennifer

Jennifer Lawrence sticks to Dior like dog hair sticks to Velcro, but in this case her Dior-obsession is completely justified. She looks simply breath-taking in that bright orange gown with peplum effect. Love her short, combed back hair as well!

oscar angelina

I am so jealous of Angelina Jolie. Not just because she is the world’s most beautiful woman, but also because she got to wear Elie Saab Couture! I really need to find myself a Hollywood A-lister, so that I can wear glittery dresses with sheer elements as well.

oscar anne hatheway

Another Hollywood star rocking an elegant short hairdo, it’s Anne Hatheway in Gucci.

oscar sandra

Oh my, Sandra Bullock is the epitome of style and elegance in this magnificently blue Alexander McQueen dress.

oscar julia

Honestly, I am on the verge of hyperventilating right now. They must have slipped some kind of style pill in everyone’s drink, because literally every actress is bringing her A-game. Julia Roberts, shining in Givenchy Haute Couture, is no exception.

oscar emma

Emma Watson looks like an old-school Hollywood diva meets fashionable rebel in her figure-hugging Vera Wang dress.

oscar jada

Dear Jada Pinkett Smith,

Please don’t let your husband’s Razzies bring you down. You look gorgeous. Absolutely gorgeous!

oscar kerry

I can’t discuss a Red Carpet showdown without including Kerry Washington. I love the silhouette of her Jason Wu dress, but to be fair, I am far too busy drooling over that gorgeous lipstick colour to be able to pay much attention to her actual outfit.

oscar meryl

Every time I see Meryl Streep, there is one thing that immediately pops into my head: God, I want to look like her when I get old.

Seriously, that woman has got some amazing style genes.

oscar kate hudson

Everything about Kate Hudson’s dress is simple perfection: the super low-cut cleavage, that shiny creamy white colour, that awesome clutch and that ridiculously stylish cape. I want it. I want it all.

oscar veerle

Now, Belgium may not have won the Oscar for Best Film in a Foreign Language (quel bummer!), but our very own Belgian star looked stunning. Go Veerle Baetens!

oscar amy

Red Carpet disappointment: Amy Adams. Don’t get me wrong, she still looks absolutely beautiful and it is a nice dress, but frankly, I expected so much more from a fashion queen like Amy.

4 comments on “Oscars 2014: Red Carpet Beauties

  • Not a clunker in the bunch! Is it possible that.. *gasp*.. my faith in haute couture is beginning to be restored?? Say it ain’t so! I didn’t watch the Oscars but will you be posting a ‘worst dressed’ follow up to these delicious outfits?

  • Leave a Reply

