The Art of Lounging Is Not So Hard To Master: White Chocolate Cake With Berries and Brazil Nuts

Published February 23, 2014 by The Feminist

DSCN3678

“Why do something today when you can put it off until tomorrow”. We all do this sometimes. When the workload seems too much to bear, you eventually get so stressed out you end up watching telly and eating cake instead. Some people call it procrastinating but I think that – in my case- that is too much of a pejorative term. I prefer to call it “lounging”. Sure, I will have to do all those things at some point or other, but let’s not think about that right now. I believe that a good hour of pure and indulgent lounging will provide me with enough energy to tackle those dreaded tasks once and for all. So there is absolutely nothing wrong with me sitting in my sofa with a large piece of home baked white chocolate cake. On the contrary, that little angel on my shoulder even told to me to go for another slice!

Besides, technically you cannot even call it “doing nothing”. In fact, you could even go as far as to say that I was multitasking! I was…

a)      Eating cake and drinking coffee (aka: physical exercise)

b)      Watching House of Cards (aka: intellectual exercise)

c)       Trying very hard to limit my House of Cards dose to a daily two episodes(aka: control and management exercise)

You see, dear readers? I was on a freakin’ roll!

If you would like to learn the true art of lounging, here is the recipe for the delicious cake:

DSCN3673

White Chocolate Cake With Berries and Brazil Nuts

Super moist, packed full of fruit, creamy and crunchy: this super scrummy cake is the Holy Grail of desserts.

Alternatively, you could use any type of fruit or nuts you want ,but trust me when I say that blueberries  and blackberries together with Brazil nuts are probably the best combination ever. (Plus: the blue dots across the virgin white cake look so very artsy!)

Ingredients:

  • 100gr white chocolate
  • 125gr butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 150gr caster sugar
  • 200gr plain flour
  • Pinch of salt
  • 100gr brazil nuts chopped
  • 125gr blueberries
  • 125gr blackberries

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 170°C. Put the chocolate and butter in a heatproof bowl over simmering water and leave until melted and smooth.
  2. In a large bowl, pour the melted chocolate-butter mixture on top of the sugar. Mix well until incorporated and leave to cool for a couple of minutes before you add the eggs, otherwise they will scramble.
  3. Add the eggs and stir vigorously. Sift in the flour and stir well.
  4. Stir in the chopped nuts, the blueberries and some of the blackberries (keep the remaining blackberries for decoration)
  5. Pour the batter into a prepared round cake tin and bake in the for 35 minutes until golden brown. Leave to cool completely.
  6. Dust with icing sugar and decorate with blackberries.
7 comments on “The Art of Lounging Is Not So Hard To Master: White Chocolate Cake With Berries and Brazil Nuts

  • Your photo looks like a real human made this cake, and not any of the seemingly perfect foodie bloggers. Thank you! I’m a lot more likely to make this cake. And I like calling procrastinating ‘lounging’. After all, if I didn’t spend some time chilling out, that stress would only build, the work would take twice as long to do, and the quality would be awful. So cake sounds like a good thing to have while I’m lounging right now!

  • Leave a Reply

