Me, Myself and I: 14 songs that say F*** You To Valentine’s Day

Published February 12, 2014 by The Feminist

For some odd reason, most people feel sorry for you when they find out you’ll be single on Valentine’s Day.  I have no idea why. Being single on February 14th is the best thing on this planet.

Think about it: You don’t have to spend money on a new dress. New shoes. New jewelry. You don’t have to shave your legs. You can eat as much garlic bread as you like and you don’t have to torment yourself by either sitting in an overcrowded restaurant for an over-expensive dinner or by pretending you like his home-cooked meal (when in reality chewing on a dry piece of overcooked salmon is giving you anything but a culinary orgasm).

And most of all: You. Don’t. Have. To. Share. The. Bottle. Of. Wine.

Case closed, I would say.

Being single on Valentine’s Day is fucking awesome. And that is why we should celebrate it! Forget all those cheesy romantic love songs! For once, John Legend and his “All Of Me” can go to hell! It is time for some empowering Single-And-Rocking-It music! Whether you have just broken up with your boyfriend, got dumped or just – the audacity!- like being a single independent lady, these are the songs you have to listen to:

I will survive – Gloria Gaynor

Best. Lyrics. Ever.

Just take a shampoo bottle, strip down to your underwear and sing and dance around the living room feeling absolutely marvelous.

Fuck You- CeeLo Green

Technically this song is about a man telling his ex to shove it, but I assume singing the F-word whilst doing some shimmy shimmies will definitely work inspirational for you as well.

Hit the Road Jack- Ray Charles

No better way to get over your ex than by replacing the name Jack with your ex’s name.

Trust me. It’s very therapeutic.

Single- Natasha Bedingfield

“I’m single right now and that is how I want to be.” I couldn’t have said it better myself. Follow Natasha’s lead and sing along to your own Declaration of Independence!

So What – Pink

This is by far the most kick-ass break-up song on the planet. The beat is super duper exhilarating, the video is hilarious and the lyrics are spot on:

“I guess I just lost my husband, I don’t know where he went. So I’m gonna drink my money, I’m not gonna pay his rent. I’ve got a brand new attitude and I’m gonna wear it tonight…”

 

 

I Don’t Need a Man – Pussycat Dolls

Boyfriends are totally overrated. We girls can take care of ourselves!

 

 

Marriage Is For Old Folks- Nina Simone

Great words of wisdom : “One married he. One married she. Whaddya got? Two people watching TV.”

Since you’ve been gone – Kelly Clarkson

There is nothing more liberating than singing your lungs out to Kelly Clarkson’s best song ever. Don’t worry about the neighbours and their possible noise complaints. Go for it, girl!

Beyoncé

Beyoncé isn’t just one of the greatest stars of today, she probably has written more women empowerment songs than any other artist before her. Her feminist anthems encourage women to stand up. To be confident. To be themselves. To shine.

Single Ladies

Me, Myself & I

Irreplaceable

Independent women Part 1 – Destiny’s Child

One of the best women empowerment songs in music history, and Beyoncé –again!- had something to do with it.

“If I wanted the watch you’re wearin’, I’ll buy it
The house I live in, I’ve bought it
The car I’m driving, I’ve bought it
I depend on me, I depend on me”

Stronger – Britney Spears

Ah, good ol’ Britney. Back in the day when she still made rather brilliant pop music (don’t deny it, ladies! You all loved Britney in the early 00s!), she released one song that totally makes up for all the shitty songs she’s bombarding us with nowadays. Stronger not only is a great karaoke song, it also celebrates the triumphant victory of a girl getting over her D-Bag boyfriend.

Strong Enough- Cher

It might not be the wisest thing to declare my love for a Cher song on the internet, but just listen to the lyrics!

Don’t pretend you didn’t song along too!

6 comments on “Me, Myself and I: 14 songs that say F*** You To Valentine’s Day

  • Leave a Reply

