SAG Awards 2014: Oh No, Not Another Red Carpet Review

Published January 19, 2014 by The Feminist

Sorry folks, but this is yet another red carpet review. I just love looking at celebrities, criticizing their outfits and discussing their hotness, so I don’t think my red-carpet-review euphoria will end soon.

On the contrary, I’m just getting started! This is merely a warm-up session compared to what is yet to come- the grand finale of splendid gowns!- the Oscars.

So let the judging commence! May the fashion odds be ever in the celebrities’ favour!

kerry-washington-sag-awards-2014

I know I’m supposed to remain unbiased and everything but…. Holy moly Kerry Washington did it again! Here she is – in all her pregnancy glowing glory- and still pulling off a sparkled Prada pink crop top! Anyone else would look bloated, ridiculous or totally horrifying, but not Kerry. She proves once again what a great sense of style she has and may I just add that I really want a similar outfit like that (pink embellished crop top with a black high waist skirt!)to rock the streets of Ghent this spring.

sandra-bullock-sag-awards-2014

Sandra Bullock looks simply stunning in her emerald green dress. I love how it has a certain Japanese geisha je ne sais quoi about it.

20th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards - Arrivals

Amy Adams opted for true Hollywood glamour with an edge. That daring neckline is in perfect balance with the retro hair and lipstick!

jennifer-lawrence-sag-awards-2014

Jennifer Lawrence in a strapless purple sequined gown by Dior. Seriously, I want that dress. Just imagine how awesome it would be if I wore that dress to my exam next week! I would totally get extra points for that, right? 😉

20th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards - Arrivals

Lupita Nyong’o was wearing the brightest colour of the evening and doesn’t she look absolutely flawless in it? By the way, extra credit for the matching eye-shadow,  it truly makes her eyes pop (And yes, I’m aware of how cliché this sounds)

sofia-vergara-sag-awards-2014

Sofia Vergara, I have just one message for you: you nailed it! Seriously, this was by far my favourite look of the evening and it is even more impressive when you think about that awful Ursula-inspired gown she wore at the Globes.

claire-danes-435x580

Not entirely sure what to make of Claire Danes’ dress by Vionnet. I admire how she always wears something different and  more creative than all the other actresses but this one just looks really… cheap. Cheap in the sense of “I made it myself a couple of hours ago with a stapler and some textile glue”-cheap. The sheer fabric at the top makes her boobs look weird and my guess is that the shiny part was supposed to create an impressive mirrored glass effect but it just looks more like a disco ball gone rogue.

cate-blanchett-sag-awards-2014

Cate Blanchett wore one of the most beautiful dresses I had ever seen in my life at the Golden Globes, but this one is just- dare I say it?- ugly. I used to believe in the saying: “When in doubt, wear Pink” , for pink isn’t just the most fashionable colour of the moment, it also makes me feel happy, giggly and super romantic. This glitter pink, however, is simply horrible. Thanks for bursting my pink-is-beautiful bubble, Cate. Thanks a lot.

emilia-clarke-sag-awards-2014

There must have been a “wear something sparkly”-memo I did not know about, because Emilia Clarke also opted for pink glitter. Her shiny dress looks amazing, but I have to say that I am too busy studying her flawless face to pay much attention to what she is actually wearing.

michelle-dockery-sag-awards-20141

I L-O-V-E Michelle Dockery’s J. Mendell dress! It’s like a tuxedo turned into a graceful dress; very elegant and yet it has a don’t-mess-with-me flair about it as well.

malin-akerman-sag-awards-2014

Malin Akerman in Naeem Khan. I think the word you’re looking for is Wowzeeeee.

aaron-paul-sag-awards-2014

My reaction when  I saw Aaron  Paul was a bit like this: Ooooo Aaron Paul! Shame, his bow tie looks crooked… love the colour of his jacket though… OH MY GOD LOOK AT THOSE SHOES, THEY ARE TOTALLY AMAZEBALLS!

julie-bowen-sag-awards-2014

Julie Bowen– always the epitome of style and elegance- looks like a futuristic Star Wars princess. And I mean that in a good way because she looks breathtaking in that geometric orange, black and white gown!

amanda-peet-sag-awards-2014

Okay, you have to hand it to Amanda Peet  for always opting for bold and unusual outfits, but dear God, there is a fine line between bold and  bad, and this one –unfortunately- is the latter.

chiwetel-ejiofor-damian-lewis-sag-awards-2014

Damian Lewis and Chiwetel Ejofor: no comment. I’m too busy drooling all over my keyboard.

4 comments on “SAG Awards 2014: Oh No, Not Another Red Carpet Review

  • Leave a Reply

