Me, Walter Mitty and some Fab Curry Noodles

Published December 30, 2013 by The Feminist

mitty2

“Stop Dreaming. Start living.” When I came across an advertisement for The Secret Life of Walter Mitty in my local newspaper, it felt as if the movie’s motto was directly aimed at me. You see, dear readers, I am a daydreamer. I dream about romantic rendezvous with handsome strangers,  about shouting very eloquent yet insulting stuff at my professor, about dancing the samba in the middle of the school corridor, about being a guest on the Graham Norton Show and sitting next to Miranda Hart…

Oh yes. I dream. I dream BIG.

Normally I would say that there is absolutely nothing wrong with dreams. Dreams are the epitome of your heart’s desires and hopes. It is the dream that keeps us going; what gives us the energy to wake up every morning and say to ourselves: Yes, let’s do this!

However, for many people- and I count myself among them- dreams just remain dreams. We don’t act on them. And that is where the problem lies.

What’s the point of dreaming BIG, when you’re living small? It seems as if dreaming- daydreaming in this case- prevents us from seeing the truly magical that is happening right under our nose. Why do we keep living in a world full of fantasy, so unachievable and out of reach? Hell, chances are small that I will ever sit on Graham Norton’s red couch, so why do I keep wasting my time with this silly fantasy? I am now starting to realize that daydreaming leaves us numb to the world around us. To all the things that actually are possible.

So when I saw the poster of Ben Stiller’s movie, I thought to myself: “This is a sign that I need to start living. No more silly daydreams. But real and honest living in the moment”

Live a little.

Consequently, whether you like it or not, this also involves taking risks once and a while. So last week, I did something I never thought I would dare to do. (I won’t elaborate on this, since this is not a diary -and who knows what kind of creeps are reading this blog!-but let’s just say it involved a handsome stranger 😉 )

Unfortunately for me, my leap into the unknown ended up being a bit like the season finale of Homeland: full of disillusion and anticlimax.

Still.

I am so proud of myself. Because in order to fly high you sometimes need to fall flat on your face. The fall might hurt, but in the end we will come out stronger than ever! Like a phoenix rising from the ashes! (God, I totally sound like a fortune cookie writer right now! )

fail

Anyway, you get my point. Life is for the living. So live it, dear readers!

Ps: After a week of taking risks, I decided it was time to actually go and see the movie that inspired me to act. I have to admit that I normally avoid Ben Stiller movies because they are most of the time immature and badly written, but this movie is different. It is funny, it is inspiring, it makes you think and it gives you hope. And guess what? Ben Stiller for once isn’t totally annoying!

PPS: After my leap into the unknown failed miserably, I really needed some comfort food. And nothing screams comfort like a pot full of noodles in a creamy coconut curry sauce. Add to that some spice from the chili, some zing from the lime and some crunch from the vegetables and I was –again!- completely worry-free! Ready to go on yet another adventure!

DSCN3527

Sweet coconut curry noodles with shrimps

Ingredients (serves 4)

  • 250gr udon noodles
  • 40 shrimps
  • 2 granny smith apples
  • Mix of vegetables (I used ½ green pepper, ½ red pepper, 1 leek, handful of beansprouts and ½ courgette. All finely sliced in thin strips.)
  • 500ml coconut milk
  • 2 tbsp turmeric
  • 3cm piece of fresh ginger
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 onion
  • 1 red chili, finely sliced
  • Fresh coriander
  • ½ tsp mustard seeds
  • ¼ tsp fenugreek
  • 1 tsp nigella seeds
  • ½ tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tbsp garam massala
  • 2 tbsp fish sauce
  • Lime

Method:

  1. Cook the noodles according to the instructions on the packet.
  2. Using a blender, mix together the onion, garlic, ginger, one granny smith apple, the chili pepper and all the spices until you get a smooth paste. (The apple in the curry paste will gave the sauce a lovely sweet and sour kick)
  3. Heat a tablespoon of vegetable oil in a wok and fry the fragrant paste for a couple of minutes. Add the coconut milk and fish sauce and let it simmer for 10 minutes to intensify the flavours.
  4. Add the vegetables, shrimps  and the other apple (finely sliced) and let it simmer for another 10 minutes.
  5. Stir in the cooked noodles and season with salt and pepper if necessary.
  6. Sprinkle on some freshly chopped coriander and finish with a good splash of lime juice.
6 comments on “Me, Walter Mitty and some Fab Curry Noodles

  • I’m dying to see “Walter Mitty”. I’m really glad to hear at least two positive opinions (yours & the first commenter) on this flick because it seems like the media is bashing it right now. BOO AND HISS ON THEM.

    Good for you on using the movie (or at least it’s subheader) to motivate yourself into taking more risks. I completely admire/respect you for that. 🙂

  • Curry noodles are a much healthier comfort than a pint of icecream, so good for you! You know, instead of dreaming about bursting into song in school halls, I`ve always wanted to whip out a skateboard and roam the halls. If only I had a skateboard. Or could skate. But yes, I think this movie sounds like one of those inspiring get-out-there-and-LIVE kind of movies 🙂 I`m looking forward to watching!

  • Leave a Reply

