It’s delightful, it’s delicious, it’s de-lovely: Heart Prints in Fashion

Published December 2, 2013 by The Feminist

I’m in a romantic mood today. Seriously, my day is filled with little elements of romantic-desiring behaviour and it isn’t even two o’clock in the afternoon yet!

Need some proof? Okay, here it is:

One: I have the urge to re-watch the Notebook. Or Titanic. Will probably watch both.
Two: I’m overdosing on John Legend music.
Three: I’ve already lit four scented candles in the past thirty minutes.
Four: I bought myself a huge box of chocolates. (Admittedly, I eat chocolate every day but today I’m going particularly overboard on the cocoa)
Five: I winked at a handsome stranger.

See? I’m practically on the verge of throwing hand-cut heart confetti at everyone in the street.

Given this romantic attitude, I think it is time to highlight some very lovable fashion for you all.

For years, romantic souls like me had to deal with those dreaded skulls on every possible garment. I assume people loved this trend because it made them look tough, but to be honest, all these skulls just reminded me of death and horror movies. I mean, when people look at you, wouldn’t you want them to associate your personality with joy and love, instead of death and walking zombies?

Anyway, apparently I was one of the few who actually thought like that. But fear no more fellow romance- cravers: the era of the skull print is over!

This season’s print is all about showing love and affection. In a society in which showing emotions is –unfortunately and to my great frustration- frowned upon, this trend encourages us to step away from this collective coolness. This season, we are done remaining frozen and incapable of expressing our emotions. Let it out people!

And a first step to a more open emotional life is buying yourself some heart print clothes. This print isn’t just something you wear on Valentine’s Day, the symbol of love can be worn every single day of the year. These prints will make you feel cherished and alive. Drop that veil of calm collective posture, ladies. Trust me, it won’t make you vulnerable. It will only make you drop dead gorgeous.

This amazing trend was launched by Burberry Prorsum. The creative team behind Burberry put heart prints on practically every available piece of fabric. Apart from this very lovable print, the collection had everything a girl could possibly wish for: a silhouette of tight pencil skirts and breezy blouses, fabrics to die for (from soft cashmere to elegant leather or daring translucent rubber)and the elegant colours (beige and bordeaux) make the collection look feminine, not girly.

heart burb

heart bur

heart burber
Even guys are allowed to show how much they love us!

heart man

These shoes from Charlotte Olympia are called “Love Me”.

heart charlotte olympia

Now, I don’t think that will be much of a problem.

If you’re looking for a subtler approach to the trend, heart-print accessories might be something for you!

What about these adorable socks?

heart socks

Or these cute glasses?

heart glasses

For the daredevils among you: don’t you think these tights with encrusted heart knee pads are just mesmerizingly beautiful?

heart tights

After such an overdose of heart-shaped loveliness, I think it’s only appropriate to seal this post with a big kiss.

kiss-mark-isolated

4 comments on “It’s delightful, it’s delicious, it’s de-lovely: Heart Prints in Fashion

  • Leave a Reply

