Quintessential Quiche: Thai Chicken Curry Quiche.

Published November 28, 2013 by The Feminist

DSCN3425

A couple of days ago I was talking to a friend of mine when suddenly the subject of quiche came up. (You know how around lunch time you’re trying to make conversations with people about serious stuff- or the weather- and then somewhere half way through your mind starts wandering off and it’s like… aaaah look at that, flying pizzas!…. Okay, maybe that’s just me.)

Anyway, so friend X told me she doesn’t like quiche.

surprise

And for a moment I just stood there trying to think of a proper reply that could replace the insult that was lingering on the tip of my tongue.

Until I finally blurted out: How can you not like quiche??? It’s savory pie! I thought it was genetically impossible not to like a quiche!

Apparently, that was still a bit too harsh. Given the fact how her face turned red, I thought it would be best to change the subject and move on. We were doing fine for a couple of minutes until she said: “So…., you really like food, huh?”

Seriously?

i love food

If it wasn’t seen as this sad and lonely thing, I would marry food!

food

Therefore I would like to say to all my readers and fellow bloggers, thank you for being such food-loving crazy people like me!

The question I’m dying to ask right now is this: are you a quiche lover? (Be careful what you answer 😉 )

Thai Chicken Curry Quiche

Ingredients:
• One sheet of puff pastry
• 2 chicken breast, cut into small cubes
• 200gr spinach
• 3cm piece of fresh ginger, grated
• 1 large red chilli, finely chopped
• 400ml coconut milk
• 1 ½ tbsp fish sauce
• 3 eggs
• 2 tbsp curry powder
• 2 tbsp garam massala

Method:
1. Preheat the oven to 200°C. Grease a tart tin with butter.
2. Heat a knob of butter in a pan and fry the chicken for a couple of minutes. Season with salt and pepper, and 1 tbsp of curry powder. Remove from the heat.
3. Blanche the spinach, drain it and press it well with a spoon to get rid of all the excess water. If you don’t , you’ll end up with a watery custard and a soggy bottom. (And we sure don’t want to disappoint Mary Berry, do we?)
4. In a bowl, whisk together the coconut milk with the eggs. Add the fish sauce, garam massala and curry powder. Stir in the chopped chilli and ginger.
5. Gently put your pastry in the tart tin. Fill the bottom of the pie with chicken and spinach and pour the coconut batter on top.
6. Put in the oven for 40 minutes. (Cover with foil if the top starts to colour too quickly).
7. Leave to cool slightly before serving.
8. Serve with a Thai salad of bean sprouts, cucumber, chili and sesame. Yum!

8 comments on “Quintessential Quiche: Thai Chicken Curry Quiche.

  • I’m not a huge fan of quiches, since most of them (at least, the ones I know) have cheese in them, and I don’t like cheese… Although sometimes they still taste good. And I like the concept of a quiche (like you said, it’s savoury pie!)
    This one sounds delicious! I might have to try this some time soon…!

  • I have to admit…I’m not a huge quiche lover…YET. I am open to loving them! It’s just that most of my quiche escapades have involved me picking up a less-than-fresh piece full of not-so-fantastic ingredients from a brunch buffet. I will give your’s a shot, and if it turns me into a quiche-lover you will be the first to know!

  • Leave a Reply

