Pure Magic: Saffron Swiss Roll with Fantastic Fig Filling

Published November 24, 2013 by The Feminist

DSCN3422

Are you a Disney fan, dear reader? If you are, I’m sure you will remember that famous scene from Aladdin in which Aladdin’s best friend, the monkey Abu, sees this gigantic red gemstone. Although he knows he cannot touch anything, the gem is just to alluring to leave behind.

Basically, Abu went nuts.

abu eyes

And that’s exactly how I felt after a morning of industrious baking. This Saffron Swiss Roll surpassed all my expectations. I was so proud of myself I actually considered texting my best friend to tell her how amazing I am.

abu huh

I didn’t. I just gave myself a pat on the bag instead.

abu boastful

So after the obligatory two hours of waiting- to let the cake cool down completely (I swear, these were the longest hours in my life!)- I treated myself to a gigantic slice of heavenly bliss. It was pure magic. The aromatic saffron flavour of the sponge gives the Swiss roll a luxurious touch and the rose-scented dried fig filling transports you all the way to the Middle East, to the beauty of Agrabah. Add to that the wonderful mélange of nuts to give extra crunch and texture and you’ll be floating on a hallucinatory magic carpet, singing “A whole new world” out of utter oblivion.

Yes, it was that good.

Needless to say that I found it incredibly hard to share this cake with my family.

abu share

This Abu doesn’t share food.

Trust me, after you’ve baked this Swiss roll, you won’t want to either.

Saffron Swiss Roll with Dried Fig filling

DSCN3423

Ingredients:
• 4 eggs, separated
• 180gr caster sugar
• 120gr plain flour
• ¾ tsp baking powder
• ¼ tsp salt
• ½ tsp saffron powder
• Icing sugar for dusting

For the filling:
• 150gr of dried figs
• 200ml water
• ½ tsp rose water
• 2 tbsp orange marmalade
• 150gr chopped nuts

Method:
1. Preheat the oven to 180°C. Line a baking tray with baking parchment.
2. Whisk the egg whites until stiff and set aside.
3. In another bowl, mix the egg yolks on high speed until pale. Gradually add the caster sugar.
4. Sift in the flour, baking powder, salt and saffron. Fold it in until combined.
5. Gently fold in the egg whites.
6. Pour the batter onto the baking tray and bake in the oven for 10 minutes.
7. Dust a clean sheet of baking parchment with icing sugar. Once your cake is out of the oven, immediately transfer the cake onto the dusted baking parchment.
8. Roll the sponge and the dusted parchment up together. Let it cool, seam side down, for 15 minutes.
9. Meanwhile make the filling by heating the dried figs with the water and rose water. Let it simmer for 5 minutes until the figs are soft. Mix the figs in a blender until you get smooth paste. Stir in the orange marmalade and chopped nuts.
10. Once the sponge has cooled, remove the paper and spread the fig filling over the inside of the roll. Re-roll the sponge without the dusted baking parchment and dust with extra icing sugar before serving.

8 comments on “Pure Magic: Saffron Swiss Roll with Fantastic Fig Filling

  • I’ve been surfing online more than three hours these days, but I never found any fascinating article like yours.
    It is beautiful value enough for me. In my opinion, if all web owners and bloggers made good content material as you probably did, the web might be
    much more helpful than ever before.

  • Leave a Reply

