The Perfect Caffeine Shot: Baileys Coffee Cupcakes

Published November 2, 2013 by The Feminist

DSCN3396

I am a huge coffee addict. If coffee were a person, I would actually consider marrying it. I can sum up more types of special coffee flavours than I can sum up US Presidents and I am extremely judgmental of people who have never tasted a Pumpkin Spice Latte, let alone don’t drink coffee at all. (There’s clearly something wrong with them!) Sometimes I even think the guy behind the counter at my local Starbucks knows me better than my own parents…

Yes, if I were a fictional TV character I would definitely be Lorelai Gilmore from the Gilmore Girls: a woman after my heart with infinite babbling capabilities and a huge love for caffeine.

Just like her, I have strongly considered hooking myself up to an IV filled with coffee and carrying it around with me throughout the day.

IV

Needless to say that a coffee cupcake sounds like music to my ears, so even without the addition of Baileys I would be happy to eat an entire batch of these cuties. With the added Baileys, however, I am completely going crazy. The perfection of this cupcake is simply mindboggling: a light sponge, the intense depth of the coffee, the soothing texture of sweet frosting and a kick of boozy Baileys…

My name is Eveline and I am a coffee addict. And I just overdosed on these cupcakes.

DSCN3393

Ingredients (makes 6 big or 8 medium cupcakes)
• 80ml milk
• 40ml Baileys
• 10gr instant espresso powder
• 40gr butter
• 140gr caster sugar
• 120gr plain flour
• ½ tbsp baking powder
• 1 egg

For the Baileys frosting:
• 50gr butter
• 60gr icing sugar
• 2 tbsp Baileys
• 1 tbsp chocolate and hazelnut spread (type Nutella)

Method:
1. Preheat the oven to 190°C and fill a muffin tin with muffin cases.
2. Lightly warm the milk, Baileys and coffee powder in a small sauce pan.
3. Whisk the butter, flour, sugar, baking powder together until you get a breadcrumb consistency.
4. Pour in half of the coffee mixture and mix together on low speed. Add the egg and then the other half of the coffee mixture and keep beating until you get a smooth, glossy and thick batter.
5. Spoon the batter into the cupcake cases and bake in the oven for 18-20 minutes.
6. For the frosting, mix all the ingredients together until light and fluffy and spread generously onto the cooled cupcakes.

DSCN3395

12 comments on “The Perfect Caffeine Shot: Baileys Coffee Cupcakes

  • Did some one say coffee??? Lol we’re right there with you, girl (or at the Starbucks across the street five times a day, lol). These cupcakes look delish … as soon as we got through all the Halloween candy our kiddos had collected, you can be sure we will be trying this recipe out. Thanx for making us laugh and know we aren’t alone in our love of all things coffee.

    XOXO Nensi & Natasha

  • Yum. I love coffee too. I’ve never had a pumpkin spice latte (that doesn’t exist over here but it sounds delicious) but I get a large flat white pretty much daily by midday. And Baileys?! Swoooon…. oh, I love the sound of that amazing frosting. Perfection in a cupcake. Love the little ‘coffee’ letter biscuits on top of the cupcakes too. Very cool detail 😉

  • “Just like her, I have strongly considered hooking myself up to an IV filled with coffee and carrying it around with me throughout the day.” I’ve never watched Gilmore Girls, I am a coffee addict. My motto is “Decaf is for wimps” and I frequently tell my coworkers that I need coffee on an IV drip. LOL I am DEFINITELY going to make these cupcakes!

  • Leave a Reply

