The best of Rome and then some! Handsome Men and Heavenly Food!

Published September 14, 2013 by The Feminist

Legend has it that if you throw a coin into the Trevi fountain, you will return to Rome one day. Needless to say that if it were up to me, I would have tossed in an entire bucket of coins if I could , only to ensure my return to this magnificent ancient city. Because if there’s one thing I know for sure, it is that I want to go back. Sooner rather than later. So that fountain better work its magic or I will be pissed!
I can honestly say that my trip to Rome was everything I expected and so much more. I could now give you a list of all the things I’ve done and all the monuments I’ve visited, but that wouldn’t do the beauty of the city or the incredible awesomeness of my trip justice. Rome cannot be described with a list of activities. Rome is a feeling. Rome is a sensation. It is like a tingling rush of excitement that creeps under your skin, a stream of bliss that pumps through your veins. Rome equals happiness. I can’t explain why, it just does.

Having said that, I do want to point out that there are indeed a lot of handsome men living in Rome. Seriously. A lot. I remember being pushed against this incredibly sexy guy on the subway – for once I couldn’t care less about the inevitable exposure to germs and bacteria on overcrowded public transportation- and admired in total awe the sheer perfection of his complexion, his very manly jawline and his impressive arm muscles (it almost seemed as if he were sculpted by angels!) I’m sure I must have sniggered at him once… or twice- okay, maybe more like ten times- but I just couldn’t control myself. He must have thought I was crazy. Or stupid. Or both.

Probably both. On top of that, Italian men aren’t afraid to show their appreciation of female beauty. They whistle, look you up and down or even shout “Ciao Bella” or “You’re very pretty. I’m single!” at you while you’re walking by. Admittedly, not all of them looked like Armani models, some more resembled creepy Berlusconi, but nevertheless their attention was highly appreciated. Yes, it’s incredibly superficial but I couldn’t help but feel flattered. (In contrast, Belgian men are awful. They don’t look at you and you would have to hit them in the face- with a chair!- to make them notice your existence. Belgian men suck. Big time!)

So where was I? Oh yes, Rome! Apart from really handsome Italian men the other main reason for my huge crush on this ancient city is the überdelicious Roman food. Roman cuisine is without a doubt one of the best –if not the best- regional cuisine of Italy!

I know I said that I wouldn’t give you a list of all the things I’ve visited, but what I will do is give you a list of the most delicious things I’ve eaten. (Not to make you jealous are anything 😉 )

The best pizza I’ve ever tasted: @ pizzeria Dar Poeta

This may seem like an exaggeration, for I can often get overly excited by good food, but when I say this was the best, I do mean it was the best! The thin crust was to die for (incredibly crunchy on the outside but the dough was still soft and comforting in the middle) and the topping was insanely flavoursome (scamorza cheese with zucchini, garlic chilli and the most yummy smoky sweet salami I’ve ever had in my life!)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A Gigantic plate of antipasti: pure, simple and full of flavour!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pesce Spada alla Siciliana and carciofi alla Romana @ La Taverna Dei Fori Imperiali

So good that I was literally on the verge of declaring my love to the chef!

2013-09-09 20.04.23

2013-09-09 20.04.28

The best gelato on the planet! @ Gelateria Valentino
It’s hard to explain why exactly this gelateria is the best in Rome, you just simply have to go there and try for yourself. It was –and again, I’m not exaggerating!- THE BEST! I had amaretto-, pistachio-, and chocolate-orange ice cream; they all tasted so pure and fresh and drop-dead-heavenly-good!

2013-09-10 14.42.29

One of Rome’s specialties is fried zucchini and marrow flowers stuffed with mozzarella. De-lish!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Awesome rolled pizza dough with mozzarella, wild chicory and prosciutto followed by very tasty vegetarian ravioli (me) or paccheri with calamari and crispy pork cheek (my best friend) @ Restaurant That’s Amore

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This chocolate soufflé brought me in a state of sweet chocolate delirium!

2013-09-11 15.20.04

Roman Coda alla Vacchinara (oxtail stew with vegetables): This is authentic Roman food at its best!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Gnocchi with Seafood and asparagus in a rather spicy sauce: yum, yummer, yummest!

2013-09-12 12.42.52

Oh, and before I forget: lots and lots of aperol Spritz! 😉

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So who’s drooling over his or her keyboard at the moment?

9 comments on “The best of Rome and then some! Handsome Men and Heavenly Food!

  • Oh man. I’ve never been to Rome but it’s somewhere that I’ve always wanted to visit. So jealous, your food photos are absolutely divine. Drooling ridiculously right now (gnocchi, come at me! Please!) xx

  • Love, LOve, LOVE this post! And, I also love Rome – went there two years ago with my husband and then 10 year old son (who’s snarky comments have been memorialized in my post Boy Meets Italy) and also dumped a mint of coins in Trevi Fountain! Food of course, fabulous and we kept my son happy by letting him eat all the gelato he wanted! Can’t wait to go back. Thanks for this reminder!

  • Italien cuisine is my favorite. I just love how light their food is despite of so much pasta and olive oil.
    I have been to Milan once with my half-italian friend and her mother. There we also ate tasty things. I loved the panzerotti and the ice cream we ate on the streets. And we ate a milanese speciality, I can’t remember its name, but it was so delicious.
    The father of my friend is italian, and he also cooks delicious things to die for.

  • Leave a Reply

