A Fool’s Foolish Week Recap: Leather Pants, Bombay Sapphire Gin and One Direction Craziness

Published August 18, 2013 by The Feminist

This was just one of those weeks. You know, those weeks when everything you do is based on silliness and an I-don’t-really-care-what-happens attitude, rather than being based on solid arguments or basic intelligence. Yes, those weeks.

A couple of days ago, my laptop decided he would no longer be my friend. Sad, really, because “Mr Bass” and I go way back. Since technology isn’t one of my strongest suits –and that’s putting it lightly- I gave him the honorable title of “Mr. Bass”, named after the sexiest TV character in history, Chuck Bass. I thought it would help me to grow fond of technology (I didn’t) or that his name would bring soothing in times of technological misfortune (it didn’t). So after a stormy relationship with quite a lot of lows and not so many highs, our union ship hit rock bottom. Mr. Bass dumped me. (read: the laptop crashed). After some obligatory sobs and frantic bashing of Mr. Bass against the wall, I took the moral high ground and decided to move on.

And what better way to move on than to go shopping for some leather pants? Ha! I can just feel y’all nodding in agreement! In an attempt to make Mr. Bass a tiny bit jealous, I wanted to treat myself to a wonderfully wicked outfit. Since leather is still a big trend next season, I deemed it was appropriate to go looking for a bold and figure-hugging (faux) leather pants. Contrary to common belief, leather pants aren’t just for cheap sluts or tough biker chicks, they are for every young and fashionable woman who wants to show the world that Mr. Bass can go screw himself (and for those who still got a tight booty to rely on). My best friend approved of the outfit(always a good sign) and told me I looked like Olivia Newton John in Grease. (maybe not always a good sign, but in this case, I’ll take that as a compliment)What do you think?

leather full

So this was my first impulsive act of the week. Many followed, and let’s just say that some of them are not to be shared with the blogosphere. No offence, I love you all but there are some things that are better left a secret. E.g. me sitting on the couch, wrapped in a blanket, watching Mad Men and eating my way through an entire can of pickled green chillies… (You didn’t hear that one from me)

One of the other silly things I did this week was bake. You might say that baking isn’t something to be ashamed of, that it is something to be boastful about. And you would have been quite right, dear readers, if it weren’t for the fact that I just wanted an excuse to open that bottle of Bombay Sapphire Gin.

bombay_sapphire_east

Blush. I’m not an alcoholic, far from it, but sometimes I do enjoy that wonderful prickling taste of a good spicy gin on my tongue (Like, say, when Mr. Bass just decided to bail on me). Pouring myself a gin and tonic of course would have been to straightforward; just having been through a tough break up I didn’t want to be boring. I wanted to do something exciting! So I decided to throw some gin into my cookies mixture. My pineapple, nuts and gin cookies were delicious.

DSCN3146

They really were! You just couldn’t taste the gin, which I considered a really big bummer, since the whole point of this baking concoction was to taste gin. I should have just poured myself a glass. Tssss. Silly me.

Apart from the gin debacle, these cookies were absolute treats!

Pineapple, nuts and gin cookies

Ingredients (makes 12)
• 125gr butter
• 150gr caster sugar
• 1 egg
• 200gr plain flour
• A pinch of salt
• 1/8 tsp baking powder
• 50gr chopped nuts, I used a mix of almonds, cashews and macadamia nuts
• 60gr dried pineapple, finely chopped
• 30ml Bombay Sapphire Gin East ( I thought the flavour of lemongrass would go brilliantly with the pineapple but any kind of gin will do, or none, as explained above.)

Method

1. Put the butter and sugar together and cream until light and fluffy. Add the egg and mix well.
2. Add the flour salt and baking powder and mix until a smooth dough has formed. Stir in the chopped nuts and dried pineapple.
3. Stir in the gin. (Apparently) optional
4. Shape the dough into a roll and wrap in clingfilm. Put in the freezer for at least one hour to firm up.
5. Preheat the oven to 170°C.
6. Remove the clingfilm and cut the dough into 1cm disks. Arrange the cookies on a prepared baking tray and make sure they are spaced apart to allow for spreading while baking.
7. Bake for 10-15 minutes until golden brown around the edges. The cookies should be soft and chewy.

Luckily for me and my week of “je m’en fou” impulsiveness, silliness isn’t just reserved for me and only me. A lot of teenage girls seemed to have been bitten by the silly-bug as well this week. A 1D World, aka a pop-up One Direction Store, opened in Belgium this week. In the exact same shopping mall as where I’m currently working as a student employee. (So imagine my excitement!) From the moment I set foot into the shopping mall, it felt as if I’d just stepped into a whole other world. Crazy girls, jumping up and down, singing the same One Direction songs over and over again. The 1D store would open at 10 o’clock in the morning, but some apparently had been there since midnight, camping in front of the door. “Let’s go crazy, crazy, crazy ‘till we see the sun”, they definitely take the boys’ lyrics too literally. So during my break, I went to take a little peak and observed the crowd. It was like going to zoo. They were no longer girls, they were a whole other species entirely.

one direction

Most of them had bought a life-size cardboard cutout of their favourite 1D’er. I overheard one girl (who had bought her very own Harry Styles) saying to her friend (with a Zayn Malik cutout): “I’m going to put him beside my bed and kiss him every night before I go to bed! I will never have bad dreams again!” They both sniggered.

Like I said, some things are better left a secret. These girls are probably too young to understand that. And I thank them for it. Because after observing so much One Direction craziness, I feel a great sense of relief. Maybe I’m not crazy after all? I’m probably just mentally creative 😉

13 comments on “A Fool’s Foolish Week Recap: Leather Pants, Bombay Sapphire Gin and One Direction Craziness

  • Your trousers are awesome! You can be so happy to have a body like that, it fits you perfectly! I also have a pair of leather trousers, but they look crap on me because I am so small. They are just too long, so the accumulation of leather at the end of my legs looks really riddiculous :/

  • Oh my, that stinks about the computer! I love the name Mr. Bass, though, hysterical.

    The cookies look delicious, though I too would be a touch disappointed about not being able to taste the gin. Perhaps using it as a glaze would help fix that?

    Here’s to a better week ahead 😉

  • Leave a Reply

