My brain works in mysterious ways: we’re in the middle of a heat wave and I’m buying a fall outfit

Published July 31, 2013 by The Feminist

heatwave1

The last couple of weeks have been hot. The sun is working overtime- it probably wants to make up for that dreadful spring we had- and I’m literally sweating like a pig. The latter is even more remarkable if you know I’m normally “sweat-free” –seriously, I used to never ever sweat- so I can only imagine how the people who do sweat on a regular basis must feel right now. (I guess some of you readers now have severe problems with keeping the creepy image of terribly sweaty people out of your head, for which I am sorry.)

So anyway, imagine me sitting in the garden, my clothes clinging to me in that really uncomfortable way, it felt as if I was wrapped in an entire roll of low-quality cellophane plastic wrap, … and I’m reading about the new fall collection in Vogue.

On days I should actually be looking for the perfect bikini, that flirty breezy summer dress or those gladiator sandals, I’m already drooling over ( in these temperatures, this can be taken quite literally 😉 … no I’m joking, because that would be disgusting) the new fall collection. Winter coats, fake fur, flapper dresses, cashmere sweaters,… Sigh. Suddenly the fall seems much more interesting than this too-hot-to-handle summer. I’m looking forward to it. Those new colours (burgundy red and Delft blue!), those new silhouettes (love the Balmain AW13 collection!), the possibility of creating a brand new me every single time a new fashion season hits the stores.

So even though the weather was telling me to look for summer outfits, I couldn’t help but walk over to the “new collection” section… And yes, I bought a new outfit. A fall outfit. And I’m not the least bit ashamed. Not for one bit!

outfit mango1

One of the reasons why I shouldn’t feel ashamed about my new fall outfit is that some- or should I say most– of the clothes and accessories were bought from the summer collection! And they were on SALE! I have no idea what a warm black leather jacket was doing in the summer collection, but hey, I sure am not complaining! The only item in these pictures that I bought from the new fall collection is my brand new –and if I may say, very cute- black derby hat. (But it was from H&M – read: it was a bargain- hence the guilt-free shopping)

outfit mango2

I guess the point I’m trying to make is this: even if you’re in the middle of a heat wave, that shouldn’t stop you from buying that perfect winter coat if you come across one. Because by the time it will be cold enough to actually wear a winter coat, those flirty breezy summer dresses will be hanging in the shops again…

heat wave

PS: What do you think about the outfit? I do love the combination of black and fuchsia. I find it very cool and sophisticated, but at the same time there’s a certain vivaciousness and youngness to it as well.
And I think it is quite obvious that I have a soft spot for leather– faux leather to be exact- but what can I say? Maybe there’s a tiny bit of a dominatrix in me waiting to get out?

PPS: I didn’t have the time –read: I was lazy- to photoshop my head out of these pics. So I’m sorry if you find the omnipresence of my face to be quite disturbing. If so, just let me know and I’ll be sure to “chop off” my head next time I post any pictures of my new outfits on my blog.

… Oh yeah, and I do hope you’re still not a creepy pervert browsing the internet in search for young red-headed girls.

9 comments on “My brain works in mysterious ways: we’re in the middle of a heat wave and I’m buying a fall outfit

  • What do I think about the outfit? Umm…I think “love” is not a strong enough word. Maybe FANTASTICALLY FUCKING FIERCE would suffice more. This is amazing. I’ve been completely craving fall clothes lately, and you may have just pushed me over the “I NEED EVERYTHING FALL!” edge. Thanks a lot – sheesh. 😉
    Completely following your blog now, btw.
    xoxo Linda

  • Ooohhh… I have a vintage dress in exactly this shape and color, so guess who’s got two thumbs and is totally going to copy your outfit? This girl. Well, except for the hat cuz I’ve got a fat head and too much hair, so hats NEVER look right on me. I’ll just do a faux-hawk instead. Done.

  • Leave a Reply

