Things I’ve learned from rewatching The Hobbit: The Fashion, Food & Flirts’ Perspective

Published June 18, 2013 by The Feminist

The-Hobbit-An-Unexpected-Journey-Wallpapers-3

I know that this blog is called Fashion, Food and Flirts but sometimes I do feel the need to discuss my other big passion: film! Watching movies provides the ultimate escapism: away from reality and into a world that is so far beyond possible that it –contradictorily- becomes more realistic. If there is one person on this planet who understands the power of good cinema, it’s Peter Jackson. I consider The Lord Of The Rings– trilogy to be the best films ever made and I know I’m not the only one! Needless to say that when “The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey” came out last year, I was beyond excited to go and see the film and it did not disappoint! Although the Hobbit didn’t have the grandeur of the LOTR-trilogy, I still thought it was a work of true brilliance.

I’m sure all of you, unless you’ve been living under a rock for the past few days, have already seen the brand new trailer for the second part of The Hobbit-trilogy “The Desolation of Smaug”. Here’s a reminder:

Damn, talking about a good trailer! (And Oh. My. God! Orlando Bloom is back in all his elfish gloriousness! )

Ever since I saw this trailer I felt this sudden urge to watch the first Hobbit-film for a second time. Frankly, I’m surprised and a little bit embarrassed I didn’t rewatch it any sooner! While I was rewatching the film, some aspects came to my attention I had failed to notice the first time. And what’s more, a lot of these aspects revolve around the essence of this blog: Fashion (in this case: the importance of a good hairdresser), Food (in this case: the importance of good seasoning) and Flirts (in this case: the importance of an incredibly sexy dwarf)

Lesson nr 1: Bilbo Baggins has a very girly side

hobbit bilbo

He cooks, he cleans and he has an enormous stash of antique silvers and cutlery. Everything about Bilbo Baggins screams domestic housewife! I mean, he crochets! He can’t travel without a handkerchief! Even I am not that girly!

On the very positive side, however, Bilbo’s soft side might be his biggest advantage: he chooses words over fighting and in a film that mostly celebrates the act of chopping off the heads of creepy Orks, that is an admirable thing.

Lesson nr 2: Frodo Baggins, for heaven’s sake what did you do to your hair?

hobbit frodo

At the very beginning of the film, Elijah Wood makes his reappearance as Frodo Baggins. Although the scene between him and Bilbo is rather short, he still managed to make an impression. And not a really good one for that matter! Whereas Frodo’s hair in the previous Lord Of the Rings-trilogy looked all rough, wild and gloriously curly, it now looked as if he had just visited an 80’s hairdresser and got a really really really bad perm. And for some reason that bothered me. But hey, who am I to judge a film solely on the basis of a poodle-esk hairdo?

Lesson nr 3: Sage- apparently- is not a strong herb

THE HOBBIT: AN UNEXPECTED JOURNEY

This is one of favorite scenes from the Hobbit: the trolls have tied up the dwarves on a spit over a fire and one of the trolls says : “They should be sauteed and grilled with a sprinkle of sage.” To which Bilbo replies: “wait! You are making a great mistake…with the seasoning. Well, have you smelt them? You’re gonna need something stronger than sage before you plate this lot up!”

I don’t know about you, fellow foodies, but I find sage to be quite a strong herb! I once ate saltimbocca at an Italian restaurant and although I normally love saltimbocca, this one was practically inedible because those poor veal loins were completely smothered by the abundance of sage leaves. Don’t get me wrong, sage is wonderful, but you do have to be careful not to overuse it and end up with something that far more resembles the taste of an overpowering toothpaste rather than a fragrant hint of Italian summer.

But then again, I’ve never eaten dwarf before so who knows? Bilbo may be right 😉

Lesson nr 4: Kili is the sexiest dwarf ever

Aidan-Turner-as-Kili-aidan-turner-32584717-720-1064

This statement requires a background anecdote: A couple of weeks ago I was terribly bored and therefore started browsing the internet in search of some highly-praised British TV series to keep me busy. I then came across a BBC series called “Being Human”, which tells the story of a vampire, a werewolf and a ghost living together. It is a strange combo of supernatural horror and British comedy, so needless to say that I immediately got addicted to the series, and – It’s me we’re talking about, after all- to one of the main characters: vampire Mitchell. Gosh, I was completely and utterly smitten with his brooding charm, mesmerizing eyes and oh so adorable Irish accent. The actor who played Mitchell, Aidan Turner, somehow seemed familiar but I was simply too lazy to google his name. (After all, that sounds so very stalker-ish! 😉

Until this weekend I never quite figured out where I knew him from. That is until I saw The Hobbit and realized to my big surprise (and joy!) that Vampire Mitchell is Dwarf Kili! ( I started clapping my hands like a crazy person – or a Happy Feet penguin- out of sheer euphoria! )

Anyway, what I actually wanted to say is this: Kili is the sexiest dwarf on whole Middle-Earth, so I believe thanks are in order, Aidan Turner! Thank you for being so incredibly handsome and thank you for being part of The Hobbit. It made the film even better!

And should you , for some inexplicable reason (call it destiny 😉 ), read this post:

call me maybe

Lesson nr 5: When in doubt, sing!

The occasional or frequent visitors of my blog will know that I truly believe in the power of musicals. Whether it is Grease, The Sound of Music or Funny Girl, they’ve all taught me one thing: Singing is good for the soul and gives you courage to carry on! And I sincerely hope that all grumpy, pessimistic musical haters are silenced once and for all, because if even dwarves believe in the power of song, you know it’s right!

8 comments on “Things I’ve learned from rewatching The Hobbit: The Fashion, Food & Flirts’ Perspective

  • Love love love this! I’m a huge LOTR fan and just recently saw the Hobbit. My husband hated it, of course, but he has no passion for fantasy and adventure movies. So true that Bilbo is a girly girl & about Frodo’s hair (I thought he looked god awful). I’m pumped for #2 and getting to see Legolas and more action. Didn’t really think to look for hotness in any of the dwarves, but that’s a lovely shot of Kili 😉

  • Despite being a huge LOTR fan I only just watched the Hobbit this weekend and loved it. I have no idea why I put off seeing it in the cinema. Even more excited for the second instalment this year. I knew Aidan Turner was in the film (that was the reason he left Being Human) but didn’t recognise him in his dwarf get-up.

  • LOTR is my favourite film series ever! I was more than a little obsessed when they came out, and I cherish my extended edition DVDs as if they were my own Precious! I also love musicals – a strange combination we have in common 🙂
    I am very excited to see the second part of the Hobbit now!
    Jen x

  • I saw the new one right before I left for work this hitch. I LOVED IT! Totally agree with you about the dwarf, he is so hot! But most of the characters were pretty nice to look at. 😉

    I never really thought about Frodo or Bilbo being girly but when you put it that way, I guess you’re right.

    I can’t wait til the next one comes out and hoping they’ll find some other middle earth stories to turn into films.

  • Haha, this made me smile! But for me the hot dwarves are totally Thorin Oakenshield (ah, that deep, deep voice!) and Bofur (because he looks like Anthony Kiedis! … Actually, I was convinced it was Anthony Kiedis for about half the film.)

  • Leave a Reply

