Euphoria in the fitting room! “OMG, I can pull off a crop top!”

Published June 14, 2013 by The Feminist

croptop1
For a couple of months now, I’ve been completely crazy about crop tops, because I think they look absolutely stylish and übercool! I already had a cropped jumper but I haven’t had the time -or the balls- to go crop top shopping…yet. That is until this morning. In a total shopping frenzy (and encouraged by my personal style icon Jessie J) I went looking for a super duper , dope crop top outfit. And I found it!

And what’s more: I looked smashing!

I bought not one but TWO amazingly cute crop tops! And a high rise denim hot pants to cover up most of my belly.

DSCN2801

A crop top combined with a high-waisted skirt, shorts or trousers is the best way to wear such a notoriously difficult garment, since we’re not planning on going back to the early nillies, when it was still appropriate for the Britneys and Christinas on this planet to flaunt their bellybuttons in our face.

The funny thing is, however, that –hypothetically speaking– if I wanted to wear a “Hit Me Baby One More Time” Britney outfit, I would sooooo be able to pull it off!

Seriously! I was standing in that fitting room today, twirling around in my crop top, looking at myself in the mirror in full amazement! My belly was so trim and flat, I could easily rival with Giselle and Doutzen!

Okay, that may be a bit exaggerated, since no one can rival with those two. But still, you get my point that I was truly delighted and in an utter state of blissful euphoria when I realized my belly looked more than fine in a crop top. I even got so incredibly elated that I ended up doing an –albeit ridiculous- little dance. Carlton style!

carlton

I guess that says it all?! 😉

So dear ladies, today’s lesson is very simple: we can do and wear more than we think! We just have to believe in ourselves!

Be confident!

Be you!

beyoutiful

14 comments on “Euphoria in the fitting room! “OMG, I can pull off a crop top!”

  • I love this trend!; As a mommy of two I can’t show off my tummy but with high waisted bottoms I can be sexy too 😀 The tops you got are very nice and trendy =)

  • Nice positive message! I think the Carlton dance is highly appropriate in so many instances. I believe I do it more often than I should lol. Crop tops are a great wardrobe staple at the moment and with high waisted skirts/trousers/shorts, you’ll feel fab xx

  • Hahahaha carlton. Congrats! I too love how versatile they are. Wear with high waisted for a touch of sexiness and sophistication or go full belly-barin,’ when you are feeling hot!

  • Hmmm, I loved the crop tops when I was in my early 30’s but now, 10 years later and two kids later, not so sure I want to go there again. However, I never wore them with high waisted bottoms before so I may just have to give it a go! Thanks for the lovely post!

  • Yayy!!! Glad you felt so happy about being able to pull off this trend! ^.^ I really like that outfit too. I think I might just try it now that I’m inspired~!!

  • Thanks for stopping by my blog! Love this post! I totally understand that feeling of being able to pull something off you didn’t think you could. Also, your banana cheesecake looks amazing! 🙂

  • Ik twijfel nog om de stap te zetten, wegens serious belly issues, maar met een hoge short moet het lukken! Ben ik blij dat die terug zijn, hahah! 🙂

  • Leave a Reply

