In Defense of Yellow Lipstick: embrace the J.LO in you!

Published June 7, 2013 by The Feminist

Jennifer-Lopez-Live-It-Up-638x272

Although I consider myself a fashionista, there are some fashion and beauty trends that I would never ever wear.
a) Because it’s a ghastly/ ridiculous/stupid/ ugly trend
b) Because I’m simply not brave enough to wear it

 
Yellow lipstick falls under the latter category. We’ve seen a lot of bright lipsticks on the runway this season. Apart from yellow, there was bright green (oh my!), blue (jeez!), orange(beauty!) and fuchsia (hell yeah!). They all look absolutely fabulous and oh-so cool, but still I’ve only dared to put on fuchsia lipstick so far. (Correction: I am IN LOVE with my fuchsia lipstick!)

yellowyellow3yellow2

Why is that? I mean, just look at J.LO in her new Video “ Live It Up“. She looks so beautiful and diva-ish with her yellow lipstick!

yellow lipstick

Why then can’t I give this colour a go? My subconscious keeps telling me I would look like a fool and that people would stare at me and think I’m an idiotic wannabe…I am just not brave enough to face my insecurities. I am not brave enough to take a fashion-leap forward. Which is a total shame, since yellow lipstick is breathtakingly gorgeous!

yellow-lipstick--large-msg-135555541108

Maybe we all just have to face the truth: not all fashion and beauty trends are made to be worn outside fashion shows and photo shoots. It’s a sad thing. But it is the truth.
Still, one question remains: is yellow lipstick one of them? What do you think? 😉

14 comments on “In Defense of Yellow Lipstick: embrace the J.LO in you!

  • i probably wouldn’t wear it in broad daylight: I’d feel weird, looked at and like you said, a wannabe. This bold make-up style really is a look for models on the catwalk, during a shoot, for the red carpet etc. Though I quite like it, I feel that is the kind of lipstick that won’t stick around for long.

    http://ledodder.wordpress.com/

  • The pictures are fantastic, and I think if the right occasion presented (like, say, an art exhibit opening?), it could work. For everyday, it might stand out. Not that you can’t always make a statement, of course… I think I’m just more one to dress for the occasion, even if that means throwing on jeans and flip flops!

  • I love how it looks on J-Lo and that last image on this post, but I would find it hard to wear out in the day. Maybe for the evening or a party? I mean you only live once 😉

  • wouldn’t be a possibility in my line of work, but who knows…a few decades ago folks thought women weren’t a possibility in my line of work. To you younger girls I say, go for it!

  • Leave a Reply

