Nuts about Coconuts: Caribbean Coconut and Rum Loaf

Published June 1, 2013 by The Feminist

DSCN2775
I love coconut. I love everything about it. The smell. The taste. I even think the word “coconut” is adorable! Those beautiful round O’s, those vibrant C’s and that naughty “nut”: each enticing syllable agitates my already incredibly high level of language snobbery and tickles my culinary imagination.

You must think I’m a complete lunatic. I’m not, really. I just love words. And I love coconut.

Coconuts remind me of exotic beaches, clear blue water and very sexy scuba diving instructors. Eating coconut is my escape from reality and my first-class ticket to tropical paradise!

Speaking of paradise, another vital ingredient for my exotic daydream trip is rum. Those of you who frequently visit my blog will know that I am notorious for putting alcohol in cake, especially rum. I am now starting to realize that you may think I am some kind of closeted alcoholic. Well, rest assured: I am most definitely not. I simply prefer to put alcohol in my baking, instead of drinking it. (Maybe I am a lunatic after all? ) To this day, I still haven’t uncovered the reason behind my inexplicable love for rum( beside having watched Pirates Of The Caribbean for far too many times 😉 )

rum

But who really cares? As long as there’s more than enough to go round, you won’t hear me complaining!

DSCN2771

Caribbean Coconut and rum loaf

For the cake
• 300gr caster sugar
• 3 eggs
• 350gr plain flour
• 1 ½ tsp baking powder
• 2,5 dl coconut milk
• 200gr soy spread or butter, melted

For the chilli and rum syrup:
• 1 dl white rum
• 2 heaped tbsp caster sugar
• 2 chilli peppers, sliced in half

For the frosting
• 50gr thick coconut cream (I used the thick and creamy part at the top of a 400ml can of coconut milk. Use the liquid part for the sponge)
• 7 tbsp white rum
• 5 heaped tbsp icing sugar
• 50gr grated coconut

Method:

1. Preheat the oven to 170°C and grease a 23 x 13 cm loaf tin.
2. Beat the sugar and eggs together in a large bowl until well mixed.
3. Sift together the flour and the baking powder and add one third of the flour mixture to the sugar mixture and beat well. Then beat in one third of the coconut milk. Repeat this process until everything has been added. Mix until light and fluffy.
4. Pour in the melted butter and beat well until well incorporated. Pour the batter into the prepared loaf tin and bake for 1 hour 15 minutes.
5. While the cake is baking, put the rum, chilllis and sugar in a small saucepan and bring to boil over low heat. When the liquor looks slightly reduced, give it a quick taste to see whether it is spicy enough. If not, let it simmer for a couple more minuts. Remove the chillis and pour the rum syrup all over the hot cake when it comes out of the oven. Leave to cool slightly in the tin before turning out onto the wire rack to cool completely.
6. Make the frosting by mixing all the ingredients together and spread a generous amount of frosting over the top of the cake.

15 comments on “Nuts about Coconuts: Caribbean Coconut and Rum Loaf

  • Haha love the inclusion of the Pirates of the Caribbean clip! Rum and coconut are a match made in heaven and this looks delicious! This reminds me I used to make something similar but in chocolate brownie form, I must did that recipe out again sometime soon…!

  • Leave a Reply

