Wrap it Up! Be Cool, Wear a Turban!

Published May 23, 2013 by The Feminist

Jessica-Stam-Fashion-Turban-469x249
If you want to get noticed this summer, I have only one word for you, Ladies: TURBAN!

I love all types of head accessories. From funky hats over cute beanies to intricate twenties-style headpieces: If I can put it on my head, I simply have to have it!

The turban is no exception. It’s classy. It’s mysterious. It’s so cool it actually gives me goosebumps. (Seriously!) I’ve always thought the turban was a fantastic expression of detailed perfection, but I had never really considered trying it on in real life, because I was afraid I would look like a Sultan’s daughter. (And since I live in Belgium, that would be totally weird! 😉 )

But then Carrie Bradshaw/Sarah Jessica Parker came along.

turban parker

The way she rocked a turban in SATC2 was out of this world! Ever since I saw that movie, I can’t get the turban out of my head (pun fully intended). For years I’ve wanted to try one but I was still afraid I wouldn’t be able to pull it off.

I finally realize that worrying will get me nowhere! I am going to wear a turban this summer!And to anyone who tries to stop me:

turban new girl

If some of you fellow fashionistas want to give the turban a try as well, there are many different styles you can choose from.

You can cover your entire head and stick your hair inside

GUESS And Coty Beauty Celebrate The Worldwide Launch Of GUESS Seductive Fragrance With Host Vanessa Hudgens

You can go for a bold printed version…

turban print

Or a stylish black one

turban

Or if you want to gradually grow accustomed to wearing a turban, you can start by wrapping one around your forehead. (Technically, this is not a turban but a headband, but you wussies have to start somewhere right? 😉 )

turban foreheadturban fore taylor

So which version will you go for?

7 comments on “Wrap it Up! Be Cool, Wear a Turban!

  • I rock a head wrap anytime I can. I love using my colorful, ethnic scarves as turbans. I’ve mastered about 3-4 different ways to wear them. I love being adventurous enough to wear them because most people aren’t!

  • Just came across your post – been thinking about turbans lately… Love the black and white one, but think I could only just pull off a plain black… definitely a winner at the beach – protects the scalp! Also love the vintage style scarf! x

  • Love Carrie’s look. Go ahead and rock it, who cares what other people think… It is fab to be different! I love wearing scarves and head wraps in the summer. As Jocellyn said below, share if you find any good turban wrapping tutorials 😉

  • Leave a Reply

