Crazy-ass Cupcakes: Chilli-chocolate-thyme cupcakes with thyme and honey frosting

Published May 18, 2013 by The Feminist

DSCN2733

I know what you’re all thinking right now: Freak. Nut job. Completely bonkers.

Although I will not deny all these accusations (they are –after all- true) , the fact that you honestly believe that putting thyme and chilli in cupcakes is “not done”, frankly, says more about you than me.

Why are you so afraid to live on the crazy-side of life? Aren’t you tired of eating plain vanilla cupcakes? Wouldn’t you prefer being blown away by awesomely extravagant flavours?

If you are ready to step away from the ordinary vanillas of life and embrace your inner freaky chilli personality, this recipe is definitely something for you! The chocolate provides that reassuring comfort, whereas the chilli and thyme blow your flavour palette wide open. The fresh thyme adds a distinct flowery aroma to the sponge and the chilli creates that little tingle on your tongue, without completely overpowering all the other flavours or making your eyes water. The intriguing honey comes through in the end, composing a taste-bud tickling aftertaste drenched in heavenly sweetness…

DSCN2734

Chilli-chocolate-thyme cupcakes with thyme and honey frosting

Ingredients (makes 6)

For the sponge:
• 20gr unsalted butter
• 10gr cocoa powder
• 50gr plain flour
• 70gr caster sugar
• ¾ tsp baking powder
• ¼ tsp (hot!) chilli powder
• 1 tbsp of fresh thyme leaves
• 1 egg
• 50ml milk

For the frosting:
• 50gr unsalted butter
• 75gr icing sugar
• 4 tbsp runny honey
• Pinch of chilli powder
• Fresh thyme

Method:

1. Preheat the oven to 170°C. Put the butter, sugar, flour, baking powder, cocoa powder and chilli powder in a large bowl and mix until you get a sandy consistency.
2. Slowly pour in the milk and add the egg, mixing well until all the ingredients are combined.
3. Stir through the fresh thyme.
4. Spoon the mixture into cupcake cases and bake into the oven for 20 minutes. Leave to cool completely before frosting.
5. For the frosting, mix together the butter, sugar, chilli powder and honey until it is smooth and glossy. Spread a generous amount of frosting onto each cupcake and sprinkle on some fresh thyme leaves.

11 comments on “Crazy-ass Cupcakes: Chilli-chocolate-thyme cupcakes with thyme and honey frosting

  • Totally dig it girl! I MIGHT tweak the ingredients a bit to make it healthier, haha, but I’m trying these for sure! Always done for the culinarily creative and crazy – thanks for sharing!

  • Love this combination. I actually find the thyme on top to be weirder than the chili lol I’ve had chili chocolate from things I’ve made such as dark chocolate mousse (somewhere on my blog) to this one Gelato shop when I was visiting Montreal a while back. An awesome combination. I love your recipe sort of having that spice in the chocolate base and contrasting with the sweet honey separately.

  • Hi. Thanks for the ‘like’ on my latest post. Of course I had to come over and have a look at you. Well … I fell in love with Audrey Hepburn when I was a teenager (I’m very, very old!) and never got over it so I stayed a while. And you write about food. And you give me lots of beautiful ladies, attired beautifully, to look at . So I’ll be back, though I’ll skip the men, thank you, and I find Buble a p i t a so I’ll particularly skip him. My kind of blog (apart from the hunks!).

  • I LOVE chili in everything. Chili and chocolate is probably one of my favorite combos. I actually like the idea of thyme on top. These look delicious. I would devour them in a split second. It’s thinking out of the box that makes the best recipes! Good job!

  • Thanks for liking my buttery corn and 4 spice carrots post on bittersweetkitchen! Wow! These look tasty! I would never think to out thyme in something sweet, but it’s a good idea.

  • These look so good! I love the chilli and chocolate combo but never thought of adding thyme. Defiantly something I want to try.

  • Leave a Reply

