Pimp Your Pump! My latest Fashion Obsession: Shoe clips

Published April 25, 2013 by The Feminist

shoe clip
I don’t do normal. I don’t do plain. And I have no desire whatsoever to be a natural beauty. Don’t get me wrong: I truly admire women who simply put on a pair of jeans and sneakers, wear no make-up and still look absolutely fabulous. However, I just know that being that woman is not for me. I guess that this character trait often gets on some of my friends’ nerves. “Why don’t you ever wear something low-profile?!” They never say that to my face of course, I can just hear them think it. It is fashion telepathy.

Whatever. I’m not going to change simply because it makes some people feel uncomfortable. I’ve always been like that. I don’t want normal and familiar. I like weird and unknown. When I was on a holiday to Italy, I spent a lot of my time eating gelato. There was one gelateria where they had the most awesomely weird flavours. People were queuing outside to get a cone of ice-cream but literally ALL OF THEM ordered Vanilla/chocolate/strawberry/straciatella. I mean, come on! I opted for the Greek yoghurt-nougat- honey ice-cream… with dried lavender.

Anyway, enough about gelato because it is making me really hungry. 😉 This post is after all about Fashion! To celebrate my refusal of all things ordinary, I discovered the most amazingly decorative trend. Shoe clips! I am truly obsessed about it at the moment. It is perfect for pimping a simple pair of pumps. Simply clip them on and –tadaaa! – you have one jazzed up pair of dramatic shoes!

Pearl brooches, small or giant bows, flowers, feathers,… anything goes really! So move over natural looking beauties, because this Cinderella is ready to bring some pizzazz to this world!

shoe clip3shoe clip2

shoe clip1

shoe clip4

11 comments on “Pimp Your Pump! My latest Fashion Obsession: Shoe clips

  • I’m not sure how old you are, I’m 35, and I remember show clips being a big deal when I was like 12. Then they stopped being cool. Looking back, they weren’t very pretty then. Now they are back and a million times more fashionable! Yay for that! 🙂

  • I’m the plain-ish jane type. No makeup, lots of neutral colors (everyone rags on me for being black and not wearing oranges and pinks and mint greens) but I do like an occasional pop. I definitely could work those bottom shoes!

  • What a great idea! I wish they made something to wrap around the heel that can spice up the shoe but also hide inevitable damage. I had to throw away some really comfy heels because the backs were unacceptable :-\

  • Leave a Reply

