Hidden secrets are always the best: intense chocolate cake with a cherry-cheesecake center

Published March 31, 2013 by The Feminist

DSCN2597
I was really looking forward to baking this one as it was something I’d never tried before. (and because it looked really pretty in the picture, of course 😉 )The recipe seemed fairly easy, so I thought: what the heck, I’m going to give this one a try!

I can be very naïve sometimes. Making the two different fillings was – indeed- easy, but bringing these two batters together, with one sitting in the centre of the other, turned out to be one of my biggest baking challenges yet! The recipe said: “Fill a piping bag with the cream cheese mixture and carefully pipe the cheesecake in a ring in the middle of the chocolate batter.” Ha! Such liars! My cheesecake mixture had the consistency of a banana smoothie. I don’t know whether you’ve ever tried to pipe a banana smoothie? Let me tell you: it is NOT possible!

So I eventually ended up doing what I do best: I improvised. I used most of the chocolate cake mixture to literally BUILD WALLS in my cake tin. (It was a bit like lining a tin with pastry but a lot messier) It cost me blood, sweat and tears, since I am baker, not a bricklayer! I eventually poured the cheesecake mix in the chocolate cake “mould” and used some of the leftover chocolate cake batter to cover the whole thing. I put it in the oven and then all I could do was wait….

And it turned out brilliantly!!! I swear, it was like magic! I have no idea how I did it… but I did! And I totally kicked the recipe’s ass!!

The end result was simply sublime. The chocolate cake was moist and intense and the cherry-cheesecake was smooth, tangy and oh-so-comforting! The cake tasted even better when I realized, as I was cutting through the cake, that I did manage to create a cheesecake center! (Can you imagine my surprise? )

If you want to feel like a true baking god(dess), than you should definitely give this cake a go!

DSCN2598

Chocolate cake with a cherry-cheesecake center

Ingredients

For the chocolate cake:
• 190gr butter
• 130gr plain flour
• 190gr caster sugar
• 3 eggs
• 60gr cocoa powder
• 1tsp baking powder
• 20ml whole milk
• 1tbsp strong coffee

For the cherry-cheesecake:
• 200gr cream cheese
• 45gr caster sugar
• 1 egg
• 40gr cherry jam

For the cherry glaze
• 40gr cherry jam
• 2tbsp kirsch

Method:

1. Preheat the oven to 170°C and grease one 25cm bundt tin with butter.
2. Make the chocolate batter. Cream the butter and sugar together until pale and fluffy. Add the eggs one at a time, mixing well after each addition. Sift through the flour, cocoa powder and baking powder and mix together. Add the milk and coffee.
3. Spoon half of the chocolate cake batter into the tin.
4. Make the cherry-cheesecake. Mix the cream cheese and sugar together until smooth. Add the egg. Stir in the cherry jam.
5. What the recipe said: Fill a piping bag with the cream cheese mixture and carefully pipe the cheesecake in a ring in the middle of the chocolate batter.
<=> What I say: Forget the piping bag. Use your chocolate batter to completely cover the walls of your tin and then pour in the cheesecake mixture.
6. Spoon the remaining chocolate batter on top of the cheesecake mixture (very hard!)
7. Bake in the oven for 1 hour.
8. In a small pan melt the cherry jam and kirsch to make the glaze.
9. Once the cake has cooled, carefully turn it out of the tin and coat the cake with the melted jam.

8 comments on “Hidden secrets are always the best: intense chocolate cake with a cherry-cheesecake center

  • Leave a Reply

