Everything tastes better with cheese: Tagliatelle with crunchy Mediterranean vegetables and feta cheese

Published March 7, 2013 by The Feminist

DSCN2526
Have I ever told you how much I love cheese? Never? Really? Damn! How could I just forget to express my love and devotion for cheese? Because cheese is the epitome of comfort food! Cheese is great! Cheese is wonderful!

I’m currently obsessed with Shropshire cheese. It is best described as a cross between Stilton and Cheshire. It has a sharp and strong flavour and a tangy aroma. I daresay it is the best thing to have hit this earth since sliced bread. (It is that good!)

shropshire

Another big favourite of mine is feta cheese. The taste of feta cheese immediately transports me to sunnier destinations. Think Greece minus the economic crisis, but with a bottle of retsina and sirtaki dancers. 😉

This pasta dish is so simple and quick you would almost think you were on candid camera: Some idiot would suddenly jump from behind your stove and shout: “Ha! You’ve just been pranked! Did you really think you could make this dish in fifteen minutes?”

Seriously. This is not a joke, this is reality. (And what a wonderful reality it is! ) Cook it. Eat it. Love it.

Tagliatelle with crunchy Mediterranean vegetables and feta cheese

Ingredients (serves 4)

• 350gr tagliatelle
• 2 medium-size courgettes, diced
• 1 yellow pepper, finally chopped
• 250gr cherry tomatoes, halved
• 1 red onion, finally chopped
• 1 clove of garlic
• 250gr feta cheese
• 200ml vegetable stock
• Lots of basil leaves

Method

1. Heat 2 tablespoons of good quality olive oil in a pan and fry the onion until soft. Add the courgette, pepper and garlic and stir-fry for a couple of minutes. Season with salt and pepper.
2. Add the tomatoes and the vegetable stock ( This will give the pasta a lovely saucy coating.)
3. Meanwhile, cook the pasta al dente. Drain and combine with the vegetables. Toss well.
4. Crumble in the feta cheese and sprinkle over lots of shredded basil leaves.
5. Let the summer begin!

11 comments on “Everything tastes better with cheese: Tagliatelle with crunchy Mediterranean vegetables and feta cheese

  • This dish looks AWESOME. I’m a big fan of cheese too. I recently went to a shop in NYC and sampled some of their cheese. I just don’t have any idea of what I’m eating. I go on taste. I think I had something called Clean. I thought it was an oddly named cheese. LOL. Anyway, thanks for sharing the recipe.

  • Leave a Reply

