10 situations in which I wish my life was a musical

Published March 1, 2013 by The Feminist

1. Walking in the streets on a sunny Friday afternoon:

Imagine yourself walking in the streets. The weather is beautiful, not a cloud on the horizon, and everyone around you seems happy and full of joy. Wouldn’t it be lovely to just burst into song and everyone around you would join in and dance in complete unison? “ I feel pretty” from West Side Story seems appropriate.

2. While you’re waiting in the hallway before an exam – or worse – an application interview:

Moments like these require songs that give you hope and loads of self-confidence! I can guarantee that if you sing “I’m the Greatest Star” from Funny Girl before the interview, you will totally OWN the place!

3. Standing in a shop, looking at shoes you cannot afford:

Everyone has been in this situation at least once, but instead of sighing at the price tag, why not start singing “Money, Money,Money” from Abba?

4. At the bus stop:

I don’t like waiting. Especially not on public transportation that is supposed to be on time. So instead of listening to music on your IPhone, why not do a whole “Sound of Music” routine, twirling around a street lantern singing “The hiiiiiilllllsss are aliiiiive with the sound of muuuuuusiiiiic!”

5. When I guy wants to break up with you, but you don’t want to let him go:

There is only one song that can truly capture this feeling of passionate stubbornness and that song is “I am telling you I’m not going”.

6. On your wedding day:

I can assure you that you will have the best wedding ever if you and your newlywed husband perform “You’re the one that I want” with exactly the same flair as John Travolta and Olivia Newton John.

7. When you have a huge crush on your best friend but the idiot doesn’t seem to notice:

On moments like these you really need a heart wrenching and dramatic ballad like “On my own” from Les Misérables. Exaggerated? Not in the least! I truly believe that music is a very powerful emotional trigger and will help you to cope with the sadness of the situation.

8. Sitting on the subway:

This is probably one of the most boring moments imaginable but unfortunately millions of people have to go through this every day. Why not liven up the situation by singing “And all that Jazz” from Chicago? Sexy dancing and swinging around subway poles included, of course . 😉

9. When your father/mother/ teacher/ employer doesn’t see what a talented person you are:

This is a very frustrating situation to be in. Believe me, I know! Next time when you feel the anger welling up inside you, take a step back, count to 10 and start singing Barbra Streisand’s truly gob smacking “Don’t rain on my parade” from Funny Girl.

10. When you are about to kiss that very handsome fella for the first time:

Imagine you were about to kiss this very handsome man… All of a sudden, instead of hearing hateful traffic noise, you can hear the sound of an orchestral symphony, swelling in a crescendo as you and him stare each other in the eyes intensely and your faces move closer together… Much better don’t you think? 😉

11 comments on “10 situations in which I wish my life was a musical

  • I wish it would happen during the rush hour traffic sometimes. I’d be more inclined to give window washers my loose change if they broke into a song and dance routine while I’m stuck behind the nanas and business people who, for whatever reason, aren’t really in a rush to get home. They could do that 525,600 minutes joint from rent, to make me laugh at how many minutes I’m losing behind the g slow merchants on the way home.

  • that’s a great collection of musicals. i’ve often imagined the same thing…awkward situations turned crazytown by a great musical number

  • Love love this! I totally agree on wishing we could burst into song at random times (and all seem to know the song and dance)! Life as a musical would be so much better! lol 😉

  • Leave a Reply

