It’s time to get to the gym, ladies! The bare midriff is back in style!

Published February 1, 2013 by The Feminist

For those fashionistas who thought they could just sit back, relax and eat cake until spring arrived and the weather was good enough to bring out the summer wardrobe, think again: Bare midriffs are a huge trend this spring, so you better think twice before eating that second slice of sticky caramel- banana cake!

Not only designers like Marc Jacobs used glimpses of midriff in their spring collections, shops like River Island, Forever 21 and Topshop are selling crop tops as well. And let’s not forget all those stylish celebrities who are already incorporating bare midriffs in their day-to-day fashion.

midriff1midriffSONY DSC

This is my favourite crop top from Topshop:

midriff high neck sequined crop top

Pair your crop top/blouse/jumper with a high-waisted skirt or trousers for a sophisticated look and NEVER opt for a bare bellybutton outfit! Unless you want to look like Britney Spears in her “Hit me baby one more time” period. (Which you don’t.)

I have to admit that, although I totally love this look, I haven’t yet figured out how I am actually going to wear this on a day-to-day basis. Unfortunately, God hasn’t blessed me with a sun-kissed skin like Naya Rivera, and I definitely don’t have Rihanna’s tremendous confidence. Not to mention that this look isn’t really suitable for attending classes at University. Or for a day at the office…

midriff glee

Naya Rivera in an elegant pencil skirt

midriff rihanna

And Rihanna in a very cool combo of orange and purple.

On the other hand, I would really really really like to wear it! 😉

What do you think about this look, fellow fashionistas? Do you dare to bare?

7 comments on “It’s time to get to the gym, ladies! The bare midriff is back in style!

  • Adore that Topshop top and entire outfit. I think the tan and abs helps pull it together though! Would love to have the balls to wear one but have the same issues as you- no idea where to wear it!

  • I’m 21 going on 22 so I might as well bare it while it’s still socially acceptable 😉 I’m a big believer in drinking tons of water. It majorly cuts down on bloating and gives you a flatter appearance, which is great for ab/cardio/gym phobes :-p

  • I just bought a midriff top today because it looked so cute on the hanger but now I am freaking out! How to pull it off without looking like Britney Spears circa late 90s will be tough but I love the idea of pairing it with high waist jeans! =)

  • Leave a Reply

