My awesome healthy and vegetarian twist on a classic moussaka

Published January 28, 2013 by The Feminist

DSCN2444
I still have to meet the first person who doesn’t like moussaka. I mean, what’s not to like? Potatoes, aubergines, lamb mince, tomatoes and a beautiful blend of spices. ( and depending on which variation you opt for, it is often topped with a rich white sauce.)
But this is me we’re talking about. I don’t do classics. I shake things up and create new twists on otherwise familiar dishes. So I decided to swap the heavy white sauce for pungent feta cheese to lift the dish to a whole other level.

To those who may not know it yet: I try to eat vegetarian as much as I can, because it is better for your health and – more importantly – the environment. So OUT with the lamb mince and IN with seitan! Seitan is the most brilliant thing on the planet since sliced bread. It has a “meaty” texture and loads of flavour! (in contrast to quorn, which can often be a bit bland)

So please forget the idea that vegetarian food is bland, unoriginal and boring! If you could all just come over, I would prove you otherwise!

Or you could just make this dish. 😉 Just follow the instructions of your old traditional moussaka recipe (I’m sure you have it lying around in your kitchen somewhere 😉 ) but instead of the mince use a spicy tomato sauce with grilled peppers, seitan, sautéed onion and garlic. Don’t forget to add lots of spices like chili, smoked paprika powder, cinnamon, cumin and oregano. Your sauce will have never tasted this good, I promise!

What do you prefer? Boring meat or funky vegetarian?

moussaka

2 comments on “My awesome healthy and vegetarian twist on a classic moussaka

  • Leave a Reply

