Fuck Valentine: this chocolate and red wine cake is just for me and me alone

Published January 24, 2013 by The Feminist

DSCN2442
Sigh. It’s that time of the year again. Valentine. Just thinking about all those heart-shaped decorations in stores, bakeries and restaurants makes me gag. I’m talking real, physical sickness. Not to mention all those public displays of affection (p-leeaaase get a room!) on practically every corner of every street. (I hereby vow never to be one of those couples ever again!)

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying these things because I’m a jealous/grumpy/ glass-is-always-half-empty type of person who doesn’t have a boyfriend. In fact, I am one  H-A-P-P-Y single! I don’t need to be on someone’s arm to feel good about myself and neither need you, fellow single ladies! (Just think of what Queen B would sing: “All the single ladies, now put your hands up!” 😉 )

No. I’m a Valentine’s Day hater, because it is simply a horrible combination of gaudy consumerism and forced romance. Romance should come naturally. And unexpected. Not in the form of a stupid teddy bear or a supposedly romantic dinner in an overcrowded restaurant. I guess you could say that I am a hopeless romantic…

So as a heartfelt fuck you to the whole Valentine’s Day industry, I decided to combine the two main ingredients of a Valentine’s dinner (chocolate and red wine) and turn it into a delicious cake! A cake just for me! To eat to the last crumb!

Rich, dark and chocolaty. Now, that is what I call a great Valentine’s gift! 😉 The red wine gives the cake extra depth and the tangy cream cheese frosting is the perfect finishing touch.

DSCN2438

Ingredients

• 125ml red wine
• 125g unsalted butter
• 40g cocoa powder
• 200g caster sugar
• 1 egg
• 70ml buttermilk
• 140g plain flour
• 1tsp bicarbonate of soda
• ¼ tsp baking powder

Method

1. Preheat the oven to 170°C.
2. Pour the wine into a saucepan, add the butter and gently heat until it has melted.
3. Put the cocoa powder and sugar into a bowl and stir in the wine and butter mixture.
4. Add the egg and buttermilk
5. Sift together the remaining sponge ingredients into a large bowl and gradually add the chocolate-red wine mixture.
6. Pour the batter into a spring-form cake tin and bake in the oven for 25min.
7. For the frosting mix 150g of cream cheese (such as Philadelphia) with a couple of tablespoons of icing sugar. Make sure the cake is cold before you frost it.

10 comments on “Fuck Valentine: this chocolate and red wine cake is just for me and me alone

  • Chocolate and wine! Yes.
    I’m going to link to your blog in an upcoming post because I got an idea from your site and made it. I’m kind of anti Valentines for the same reasons, though I remember when I was little how cool it was to get cards and chocolates from fam and friends.

  • Leave a Reply

