Oh. My. God. I am now officially a One Direction fan

Published January 7, 2013 by The Feminist

one direction1
There was absolutely nothing on the TV last night. After switching channels for half an hour, I ended up watching a documentary on the British boy band One Direction. I knew who they were of course. I even secretly liked their songs. But I would have never ever called myself a fan, simply because I am almost 22 years old and openly calling myself a One Direction fan would have been social suicide.
Thanks to One Direction’s “A Year in the Making”, however, I’ve completely changed my mind. I am proud to announce that from now on I am an official One Direction fan. A so called Directioner. Deal with it.

I’ve got good reasons to love them, you know.

1) Their songs make me happy.

Seriously, listening to “What makes you beautiful”, “One Thing” or “Kiss you” immediately puts a smile on my face! I am 100% sure that all girls, young women ( and even adult 40 something women!) will feel the same. Admit it, ladies! One Direction’s music is contagious!

2) One of them is totally H.O.T

Before you start thinking: “yaaaaawn, they’re all Justin Bieber lookalikes with baby faces and oh so boring haircuts.” Think again, because there is one guy that totally stands out from all the rest, and that is that guy called Zayn. He looks (slightly) older and more mature than the rest of them, he has crazy ass cool hair and… well… he’s just really hot!

one direction

3) Their song “Little Things” is really beautiful

All credits go to the master of romantic songwriting Ed Sheeran. The lyrics are soooo good. A short excerpt:
“And I’m joining up the dots
With the freckles on your cheeks
And it all makes sense to me
I know you’ve never loved
The crinkles by your eyes when you smile
You’ve never loved
Your stomach or your thighs
The dimples in your back at the bottom of your spine
But I’ll love them endlessly”


Very cheesy, corny and sappy, I know. But come on! You’ve got to admit that the “join the dots with the freckles on your cheeks” is a piece of very clever songwriting. 😉
In short, yes, I am a One Direction fan. And I am proud of it!

Please tell me I’m not the only one…

5 comments on “Oh. My. God. I am now officially a One Direction fan

  • I hate to admit it, but I’m a fan. I ought to know better. This was just hilarious to read.

    Thanks for the like on my blog. I never would have laughed tonight without finding this.

  • YES! I LOVE One Direction!!! I am 25 going on 26 and not afraid to admit it. I am writing a blog post in the near future about why I love them. And btw I TOTALLY agree that Zayn is the hottest. Whenever I watch “Little Things” and see those brown eyes looking at the camera I get totally melty inside!

  • Leave a Reply

