“Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn”

Published December 5, 2012 by The Feminist

There is just something incredibly comforting about watching a classic film. I am quite the film fanatic in general, but I am even more obsessed with classic films. So much so that the word “film freak” would be an understatement. I think the reason why I like older films so much is because they’re just so melancholically likable. The glamourous actresses were the epitome of style and elegance. The leading men still believed in Romance, with a capital R. Not to mention the clothes: men in well-tailored suits with accompanying hats and women in beautiful dresses and expensive jewelry. And the theatrical music always leaves me with a lump in my throat (and in desperate need of a tissue 😉 ). But what makes a classic film truly unforgettable is the language. The actors were so articulate and so movingly expressive. Dialogues were full of wit, humor and poetry.As a language student it’s practically impossible not to sit in awe of their eloquence.

Here is my top 5 , which –as you will notice- is dominated by the most beautiful woman of all time: Audrey Hepburn

1)My fair Lady:
I watched this film for the first time when I was about five years old and although I couldn’t understand what they were saying, I was completely mesmerized. Those clothes. The storyline. The songs, and of course Audrey Hepburn! It is because of this film that I went to study English at university: I just HAD TO learn how to speak like that. If you have no idea what I’m talking about, watch the following fragment :
Rex Harrison- verbal poet that he is- asks himself why women can’t be more like men. (it is my favorite song/monologue)

2)Funny Girl:
With Barbra Streisand. Need I say more? The songs are simply “gorgeous” , especially “People” and “Don’t rain on my parade”! They give me goose bumps every single time!

3)Love is a Many-Splendored Thing
If you are looking for a true tearjerker: this is it!

4)Roman Holiday:
Cute, adorable and funny: the best film to watch on a rainy afternoon!

5)Grease:
How could I not mention Grease? No matter if you’re eight or eighty eight years old, you can always relate to the lyrics. (my personal favorite: hopelessly devoted to you. Corny but oh so effective!)

3 comments on ““Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn”

  • Leave a Reply

