Some like it hot

Published November 12, 2012 by The Feminist

“The hotter the better” has been my personal mantra for years. I use chili peppers as if they were ordinary vegetables, I add Tabasco/ Sambal/ harissa to practically everything and I simply cannot eat a pizza without some hot chili oil. (yes, it is that bad!) I honestly believed I could practically handle any hot dish… until I tried the “firecracker chicken : super spicy” at Wagamama this weekend.

Don’t get me wrong , it was absolutely to die for! Unfortunately not just figuratively but literally as well. The sweet- and-spicy sauce was deliciously fragrant, the chicken was moist and the vegetables still crunchy. It was in every possible way the perfect dish…

Then the chilies started to kick in. I started to sweat, my eyes teared up and it felt as if someone was sticking one hundred needles into my stomach. (yes, it was that bad!)
But no matter who f***ing spicy the firecracker chicken was, I still love spicy food! I dare say I love it even more! The “Oh my God this is delicious/ I am going to die” episode at Wagamama made me realize that there is still so much about spicy food that I have yet to discover.

So , instead of giving my stomach some time to relax, I cooked a lamb vindaloo the other day. And yes, it sure as hell was delicious! And yes, it sure as hell was spicy! But that’s the way it should be!
Life is too short to eat bland food!

One comment on “Some like it hot

  • Just like me My pizza must asked for “chili please’ I collected the harvest chili from summer and frozen it. The more it hot the more satisfied,sometimes the chili make me cry but I cannot live without have a chili in my food.

  • Leave a Reply

