Oh no! Not another vegetarian hippy!

Published October 13, 2012 by The Feminist

Oh no! Not another vegetarian hippy!

 

Believe me when I say that I absolutely love chicken tikka massala, lamb tagine, Peking duck, beef rendang and a lot of other meat dishes…

But I love this planet even more, and that is why I try to eat as much vegetarian as I possibly can. And before you start thinking “YAWN, not another vegetarian hippy trying to get me off my pork sausages!”, I’m not writing this post to make all of you meat lovers feel bad. I’m writing this post to prove that vegetarian food can taste as good –if not, even better- than meat. Should you decide to try one of the dishes mentioned below, well… WONDERFUL! But if this whole article makes you  just want to eat a burger, that’s fine by me too.

The main reason why I often opt for vegetarian food, is because it is better for the environment. We tend to take the earth’s resources for granted. Water? Trees? Fertile soil? Fish? If the meat production keeps expanding, there will be none of these things left. Bummer, don’t you think? Did you know by the way that to produce 1kg of meat, you would need 100 times the amount of water needed to produce 1 kg of wheat? Those numbers really make my head spin!

For some reason a lot of people – honestly,  I don’t know where the hell they get it from – believe a vegetarian diet only offers bland and boring food with no variety. But nothing could be further from the truth, because a vegetarian diet gives you the opportunity to experiment with new flavours and exiting ingredients.

So, to prove my point: here are a couple of my all time favorite vegetarian dishes!

1)      Squash & coconut curry: a rich taste and a velvety texture. Pure heaven!

2)      Pizza with caramelised pear and blue cheese: a wonderful and bold combination to make your pizza extraordinary

3)      Cauliflower risotto with capers and feta cheese: The sweetness of the cauliflower, the sourness of the capers and the saltiness of the feta cheese blend perfectly together!

4)      Sweet, sticky and spicy tofu with stir fried vegetables and udon noodles: a great introduction into the world of tofu for those who haven’t tried it before

5)      Grilled halloumi cheese with maftoul couscous and root vegetables and pomegranate:

It may sound like a lot of ingredients but it is so easy to make and a true joy to eat!

6)      Vegetable tagine with caramelised onions, dates and almonds: a one-pot-wonder!

7)       Rigatoni with peas and porcini mushrooms in a creamy asparagus sauce: My favorite recipe from Gino D’acampo’s Gino’s Pasta cookery book. It is incredibly easy to make, but is packed full of flavour!

8)    Chili sin carne con vino y chocolate : the bitter chocolate turns this Mexican favorite into something truly special

9)      Tomato and basil tarte tatin: a delicious savory twist on an French classic.

10)   Beetroot falafel with tahini yoghurt dip: I tried these colourful falafels for the first time from the BBC Good Food Magazine and I immediately loved them!

Leave a Reply

