Back to the Roaring Twenties: Style Inspiration from The Great Gatsby

Published May 5, 2013 by fashionfoodandflirts

The-Great-Gatsby3

Baz Luhrmann’s film adaptation of one of the greatest novels of all time has led to some major Gatsby fever. The Great Gatsby is literally everywhere: we’re bombarded with movie snapshots, trailers and interviews with the cast. But the most exciting part about the most hyped movie of the year by far, is the fashion of Daisy Buchanan and co. I am dead serious when I say that I wish I had lived in that era (fashion-wise that is) since the fashion of the Roaring Twenties is the perfect representation of what my personal style is all about: Decadence and luxury all drenched in an inappropriately large quantity of Moët & Chandon champagne! ;) During the Roaring Twenties the hemlines became shorter and waistlines became looser. All the glamorous socialites were clad in marabou feathers (Oh my!), furs (though I would now opt for a more animal-friendly faux-fur piece) and bedazzled headpieces (Admit it! You want one of those!) . What’s more: practically all women had short hair! (like me!) Sigh. I would have been such a fabulous flapper girl…

the great gatsby1

the great gatsby daisy

The costumes were designed by Catherine Martin (who won an Oscar for best Costume design for Moulin Rouge), in collaboration with none other than Miuccia Prada! The collection oozes sophistication and avant-garde exuberance: just look at the ‘chandelier dress’ Carey Mulligan got to wear on set:

the great gatsby chandelier

And if you thought things couldn’t get any better: America’s luxury brand Brooks Brothers designed over 500 suits for the entire male cast! Leonardo DiCaprio looks incredible in his white suit…

the great gatsby white suit

Oh Leo….

the great gatsby glass

So before you buy your tickets, I suggest you get into that sizzling Roaring Twenties vibe first : Buy that flapper dress (the bolder the better!) and take that extra sip of champagne! Fitzgerald would definitely approve ;)

11 comments on “Back to the Roaring Twenties: Style Inspiration from The Great Gatsby

  • The beauty of this story is in his writing, he is an amazing writer, very different. Even though I appreciated his artistry, his cynical viewpoint was distasteful to me. Nevertheless, would love to see the movie for the costumes.

  • I think we all have a “go to” era…if we had to live in a different “time zone” ;) Mine is the 50’s…our company recently turned 60 (we were founded in 1953) and we had a “fifties flair” do. It was stunning and I loved dressing up 50’s red carpet style – crimson lips and all…will add proof to my blog soon – we posed with the vintage cars too (who can say no to a Thunderbird, or Leo for that matter…mmmm.) And I can DEF see you in the roaring twenties dahling! :) LOVE your blog and will keep an eye on it. Toodles! x

    • Oh I love the 50s as well!! Not just the bombshell dresses but also the music! I am a real sucker for Frank sinatra and nat king cole music (which is odd because i am 22 and should listen to dubstep instead of swing and big band ;) )

  • Gorgeous costumes. I’ve never been completely sure about Baz Luhrmann’s vastly-over-budget films (loved Romeo & Juliet, Moulin Rouge was ok, Australia was… terrible) but his wife definitely knows how to design period costumes! :) Hope that your exam/thesis stress has settled down now? Just read through your grasshopper cheesecake post also. Oh my gosh. I’ve never heard of it before, but soothing mint + creamy cheesecake + rich brownie? Heaven!!

  • I haven’t seen the movie yet but I have read the novel, albeit a long time ago! I love the clothing. For the women it is so feminine and classy and the men look so elegant and dapper. I wish the fashion today was as inspiring! Great post!

  • I would see this movie for the fashion and jewels alone! I have to admit that my favorite version of it is the one starring Robert Redford….OMG, need I say more? Wonderful story and LOVE your photos…Breakfast at Tiffany’s is another all time favorite!

  • I thought the book was entertaining, but not “great”. I saw an earlier movie of it on TV which was confusing and boring, other than the old clothes and old cars. What’s all the fuss about?

  • Leave a Reply

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 4,751 other followers

